On September 26, 2018, scientists aboard the Narval spotted a pair of vaquitas: one of the individuals was much smaller in size and was swimming within one body length of the other. It was a calf! The team photographed the adult and the calf, and identified the adult to be the possible mother of the calf that was captured and released during the 2017 VaquitaCPR operation. This indicates that the remaining vaquitas are healthy and are capable of reproducing successfully despite a small genetic pool. It also shows that vaquitas can reproduce once a year instead of once every two years, as previously thought. Latest acoustic data implies that the remaining vaquitas are staying in a relatively small area, which will allow scientists to photograph and identify the individuals, and attempt to protect them effectively. During the Narval expedition, additional adults and a calf were also spotted giving this endemic, critically endangered population a new ray of hope. However, totoaba fishery season is starting in December.

According to the latest censuses, about 30 vaquitas remain and it is estimated that about that many die each year in fishing nets. Since 2011, the population has plummeted by 90% due to gillnet fishing. A gillnet is a rectangular, vertically deployed panel that traps fish by catching them in the mesh by the gills; an effective means of harvesting fish, but also responsible for a large number of incidental catches.

The vaquita lives exclusively in the northern reaches of the Gulf of California, which is part of the Islands and Protected Areas of the Gulf of California, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. According to UNESCO, this site “contains 39% of the world’s total number of species of marine mammals and a third of the world’s marine cetacean species”. There are also some 900 species of fish and fishing plays an important role in the local economy. However, according to the WWF report, illegal and unsustainable fishing practices and growing urbanization and pollution are harming the exceptional universal value of the site and undermining its ability to nurture and sustain local communities economically.

In 2015, to protect species at risk, the Mexican government banned the use of gillnets for two years; this ban expires on May 31, 2017. The  WWF is calling on the Mexican government to permanently outlaw gillnets and encourage the adoption of fishing gear that is safer for cetaceans. WWF is encouraging the World Heritage Committee to undertake measures to place the Gulf of California on the List of World Heritage in Danger if the Mexican government does not take the necessary steps to protect the vaquita.

WWF is also calling on the Chinese and US governments to work with their Mexican counterpart to put an end to the illegal harvesting and trade of totoaba and reduce consumer demand for this fish. The totoaba, a large silver fish endemic to the Gulf of California, shares its range with the vaquita. As the swim bladder of this fish is marketed at high prices in China, overfishing and intensive poaching have brought this fish – and at the same time the vaquita, which is also caught in gillnets – to the endangered species list. WWF is calling on CITES to implement sanctions if certain countries fail to demonstrate adequate progress in curbing the totoaba trade.

An outright ban of all fishing in this area is not a solution, however, as locals depend on this activity to eek out a living. To ensure the long-term protection of the vaquita, its exceptional marine habitat and the livelihoods of local residents, the Mexican government and NGOs will need to work with local communities to encourage more sustainable fishing practices and develop other sources of income. Time is running out to find effective, equitable and sustainable solutions to protect this endangered cetacean.

Last update: October 31, 2018

News - 29/5/2017

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Le marsouin vaquita pourrait disparaitre d’ici un an

  • Vaquita © Frédérique Lucas (Source: www.vivavaquita.org)
    Les espèces en péril ont été mis à l'honneur aujourd'hui. © Frédérique Lucas (Source: www.vivavaquita.org)
    29 / 05 / 2017 Par Béatrice Riché - / /

    Mise à jour : Le 26 septembre 2018, des scientifiques naviguant à bord du Narval ont repéré deux marsouins de Californie, qu’on appelle plus communément des vaquitas : l’un d’eux était beaucoup plus petit et nageait à la proximité de l’autre. C’était un veau! L’équipe a photographié l’adulte et le veau et a identifié l’adulte comme étant possiblement la mère du veau capturé et relâché dans le cadre de l’opération Vaquita CPR 2017. Le fait d’observer un nouveau-né indique que les vaquitas restants sont en bonne santé et sont capables de se reproduire avec succès malgré leur faible réserve de ressources génétiques. Cela montre également que les vaquitas peuvent se reproduire une fois par an au lieu de tous les deux ans, comme on le pensait auparavant. Les toutes dernières données acoustiques dont les chercheurs disposent laissent entendre que les vaquitas restants demeurent dans une zone relativement petite, ce qui permettra aux scientifiques de photographier et d’identifier les individus, et de tenter de les protéger efficacement. Au cours de l’expédition du Narval, d’autres adultes et un autre veau ont également été repérés, donnant une nouvelle lueur d’espoir pour cette population endémique et gravement menacée de disparition. Cependant, la saison de la pêche au totoaba débute au mois de décembre.

    Selon les derniers recensements, il reste environ 30 marsouins vaquita et l’on estime qu’une trentaine meure chaque année dans les filets de pêche. Depuis 2011, la population a diminué de 90 % en raison de la pêche au filet maillant. Un filet maillant est une nappe rectangulaire déployée verticalement, qui piège le poisson en le retenant dans la maille au niveau des ouïes ; un engin efficace pour capturer le poisson, mais également responsable d’un grand nombre de prises accidentelles.

    Le vaquita vit exclusivement dans la partie nord du golfe de Californie, qui fait partie des Iles et aires protégées du golfe de Californie, un site inscrit sur la liste du Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Selon l’UNESCO, ce site « héberge 39 % du nombre total d’espèces de mammifères marins et un tiers du nombre total des espèces de cétacés de la Terre ». On y trouve également quelque 900 espèces de poissons et la pêche joue un rôle important dans l’économie locale. Cependant, selon le rapport du WWF, des pratiques de pêche illégales et non durables, ainsi qu’une urbanisation et une pollution croissantes endommagent la valeur universelle exceptionnelle de ce site et compromettent sa capacité à nourrir et à soutenir économiquement les communautés locales.

    En 2015, pour protéger les espèces en péril, le gouvernement mexicain a interdit, pour deux ans, l’utilisation de filets maillants. Cette interdiction expire le 31 mai 2017. Le WWF demande au gouvernement mexicain d’interdire de façon permanente les filets maillants et d’encourager l’adoption d’équipement de pêche plus sécuritaire pour les cétacés. Le WWF encourage le Comité du patrimoine mondial à entreprendre des procédures pour inscrire le golfe de Californie sur la liste du patrimoine mondial en péril, si le gouvernement mexicain ne prend pas les mesures nécessaires pour protéger le vaquita.

    Le WWF appelle également les gouvernements chinois et américains à collaborer avec le gouvernement mexicain pour mettre fin à la pêche et au commerce illégal de totoaba et réduire la demande des consommateurs pour ce poisson. Le totoaba, un grand poisson argenté endémique du golfe de Californie, partage son aire de répartition avec le vaquita. Comme la vessie natatoire de ce poisson est vendue à haut prix en Chine, une surpêche et un intense braconnage ont conduit ce poisson, et par le fait même le vaquita qui se prend également dans les filets maillants, sur la liste des espèces menacées. Le WWF demande au CITES d’initier des procédures de sanctions si certains pays ne démontrent pas de progrès adéquat dans la lutte contre le commerce du totoaba.

    Bannir toute pêche dans cette région n’est cependant pas une solution, car les communautés locales dépendent de la pêche pour leur survie. Pour assurer la protection à long terme du vaquita, de son habitat marin exceptionnel et des moyens de subsistance des communautés locales, le gouvernement mexicain et les ONG devront travailler en concertation avec les communautés locales pour encourager des pratiques de pêche plus durables et développer d’autres sources de revenus. Le temps presse pour trouver des solutions efficaces, équitables et durables pour protéger ce cétacé en voie de disparition.

     

    Sources:

    Vanishing Vaquita: Saving the World’s Most Endangered Marine Mammal (WWF, 15/05/2017)

    Vanishing Vaquita: Saving the World’s Most Endangered Marine Mammal (Dalberg, 19/05/2017)

    Iles et aires protégées du golfe de Californie (UNESCO)

     

    Pour en savoir plus:

    Sur Baleines en direct:
    Les actualités sur le vaquita

    Sur le site de l’Ifremer:
    Les filets maillants

    Sur le site de Wild Lens:
    Un documentaire sur le vaquita : Souls of the Vermilion Sea

     


    Béatrice Riché est rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis 2016. Elle détient une maitrise (M. Sc.) en environnement et elle a travaillé plusieurs années à l’étranger sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques. Habitant sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.