In the Lower Estuary, it seems that fall is the best time to observe blue whales. Compared to other species, these whales always seem to be the last to return to the Estuary in decent numbers, at least according to my observations. We should ask the experts what the reason for this is. In these parts, these krill-eating whales are almost always observed in the Laurentian Channel in 300 m deep water, which also corresponds to the shipping channels.

On Friday, September 23, I headed out to sea from Rimouski. The course I took allowed me to observe eight different blue whales at close range, in the middle of the Channel. It was a rare occasion where I didn’t have to actively search for whales. While I’d be documenting one whale, I always had one or two spouts in reserve in the distance. Once I completed the photo-ID session with one animal, I turned to the next one and so on for the eight hours I spent at sea. Some whales were very cooperative, allowing me to complete my session in about twenty minutes or so. But for others, it took a couple of hours before they dared to show both flanks to my satisfaction. Indeed, it takes a quality photo from both sides of the animal to properly document it, and their dives were lasting 10 minutes on average.

These eight blue whales are regular in the Estuary, having been observed here for a number of years, and have been present in these waters for several days now. The most popular amongst observers in the Marine Park is Jaw-Breaker, a female known as a “fluker” due to her habit of lifting her tail when she dives, as well as the female Alacran, who had also been photographed last month by a fellow observer off the coast of Matane.

I also observed many white-sided dolphins – at least fifty – which always put on a great show. However, I didn’t see any fin, minke or beluga whales, which is quite surprising.

Autumn is also the time when one can observe “pairs”, that is to say two blue whales swimming and feeding together. I also had the opportunity to observe one such duo. According to expert Richard Sears, this pair, as he calls it, is composed of a female who is always positioned in front, and a male who swims behind her or at her side. They maintain their respective positions at all times. A few weeks ago, these two animals (B476 and B335) were also observed separately in the Marine Park by members of the GREMM team.

Here are a few photos from this action-packed day:

[metaslider id=21549]

RenéRené Roy is an amateur cetologist who is passionate about the sea and whales; he resides in Pointe-au-Père, in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region. For the past few years, he has undertaken photo-identification expeditions for the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), mainly in the Gaspé. He also volunteers for the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network.

Field Notes - 3/10/2016

René Roy

René Roy is an amateur cetologist who is passionate about the sea and whales; he resides in Pointe-au-Père, in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region. For the past few years, he has undertaken photo-identification expeditions for the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), mainly in the Gaspé, with a research permit. He also volunteers for the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network. More pictures can be seen on Facebook.

Recommended articles

With the visitors… at the Marine Mammal Interpretation Center while it is COVID time!

Whether on water or on land, the research activities carried out by the Group for Research and Education on Marine…

|Field Notes 9/9/2020

With the belugas… photographed from shore

Since 8 o’clock in the morning, GREMM (Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals) research assistant Mathieu Marzelière has…

|Field Notes 3/9/2020

With the Large Rorquals… New Mothers and a Whale Swimming Backward!

What a pleasure it is to cross paths with large rorquals! This week, we encountered two blue whales, nearly a…

|Field Notes 28/7/2020

Dans l’estuaire maritime, il semble bien que l’automne soit la meilleure période pour observer des rorquals bleus. Ces rorquals, par rapport aux autres espèces, semblent toujours les plus tardifs à rentrer en nombre dans l’estuaire, du moins selon mes observations. Il faudrait demander la raison aux spécialistes. Ces rorquals mangeurs de krills s’observent alors à peu près toujours dans le chenal laurentien, qui correspond aussi aux voies du trafic maritime, dans 1000 pieds d’eau.

Le vendredi 23 septembre, j’ai fait une sortie à partir de Rimouski. Un tracé qui m’a permis d’observer huit rorquals bleus différents, tout juste en face, au milieu du chenal. Une rare occasion où je n’ai pas eu à chercher les baleines. Pendant que j’en documentais une, j’avais toujours un ou deux souffles en réserve à une certaine distance. Aussitôt terminé la séance de photo-identification avec une, je me rendais voir la suivante et ainsi de suite durant les huit heures passées en mer. Certaines baleines, très coopératives, me permettaient de boucler ma séance en une vingtaine de minutes. Mais avec d’autres, j’ai dû consacrer une couple d’heures avant qu’elles daignent me présenter adéquatement les deux flancs. En effet, il faut une bonne photo des deux côtés de l’animal pour bien le documenter, et leurs plongées étaient d’une durée moyenne de 10 minutes.

Ces huit baleines bleues sont des régulières de l’estuaire, pour les y avoir observées depuis plusieurs années, et elles sont présentes dans l’estuaire depuis plusieurs jours. La plus populaire auprès des observateurs du parc marin étant Jaw-Breaker, une femelle dite « fluker », qui sort la queue en plongeant, tout comme la femelle Alacran, qui avait d’ailleurs été photographiée le mois précédent par un ami observateur, au large de Matane.

J’ai aussi pu observer un grand nombre de dauphins à flancs blancs, une cinquantaine au moins. C’est toujours un très beau spectacle. Cependant, je n’ai observé aucun rorqual commun, petit rorqual ou béluga, ce qui est assez surprenant.

L’automne est aussi la période où l’on peut observer des « paires » c’est-à-dire deux bleues qui nagent et s’alimentent ensemble. J’ai donc aussi eu l’occasion d’en observer une. Selon le spécialiste Richard Sears, cette paire, comme il l’appelle, est composée d’une femelle toujours positionnée en avant et d’un mâle derrière elle ou sur son flanc. Elles gardent toujours leur position respective. Ces deux animaux (B476 et B335) avaient aussi été observés séparément, il y a quelques semaines, par des membres de l’équipe du GREMM, dans le parc marin.

Voici quelques photos de cette journée bien remplie:

[metaslider id=21549]
RenéRené Roy est un cétologue amateur, passionné de la mer et des baleines, résidant à Pointe-au-Père, dans le Bas-Saint-Laurent. Depuis plusieurs années, il entreprend des expéditions de photo-identification pour le compte de la Station de recherche des îles Mingan (MICS), principalement en Gaspésie. Il est également bénévole pour le Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins.

Carnet de terrain - 3/10/2016

René Roy

René Roy est un cétologue amateur, passionné de la mer et des baleines, résidant à Pointe-au-Père, dans le Bas-Saint-Laurent. Depuis plusieurs années, il entreprend des expéditions de photo-identification pour le compte de la Station de recherche des iles Mingan (MICS), principalement en Gaspésie. Il est également bénévole pour le Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins.

 On peut voir ses photos sur Facebook

Articles recommandés

Avec les bélugas… et une fin de saison sous les premiers flocons

Carnet de terrain écrit en collaboration avec Laurence Tremblay Une saison de terrain pleine de rebondissements se termine pour l’équipe…

|Carnet de terrain 5/11/2020

Avec les visiteurs… au Centre d’interprétation des mammifères marins en période de COVID-19

Qu’elles se déroulent sur l’eau ou sur la terre, les activités de recherche du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur…

|Carnet de terrain 9/9/2020

Avec les bélugas… photographiés de la rive

Depuis 8h le matin, l’assistant de recherche du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM), Mathieu Marzelière,…

|Carnet de terrain 3/9/2020