July 13, 2021. Several large spouts erupt off the coast of Sept-Îles. One, two, three blasts. Four, then seven, then ten. No, there are even more. In almost perfect unison, 13 fin whales rise to the surface to breathe! Moving at a fairly impressive clip, they continue their breathing sequence in close proximity to a research vessel that happens to be on the water at the time. Then, in the space of a few seconds, the 13 individuals plunge into the depths of the St. Lawrence. Surprised, but even more so fascinated, the scientists on board the boat realize they have just witnessed collective navigation behaviour, little documented in fin whales.

All at once!

Composed of 13 adults swimming eastbound off the coast of Sept-Îles, the group was observed by the Sept-Îles Education and Research Centre (CERSI). Second largest mammal in the world, the fin whale is quite impressive even when alone. A group of 13 individuals therefore makes for a rather jaw-dropping observation!

Anik Boileau, researcher and co-founder of CERSI, was on the water at the time of the event. She says the group of fin whales reminded her of a passing train. “They were always moving in the same direction,” she adds. The sighting was captured on video. We see the fin whales coming to the surface to breathe while moving for a little over a minute and a half. The individuals then dive as a single entity.

This synchronized breathing and diving behaviour was observed on two other occasions by the research team. The gathering of fin whales eventually swam away and resurfaced for another breather sequence. Given the distance of the individuals and the shifting weather conditions, the scientists chose to leave the area.

During the entire observation, the whales were synchronized in their movements, in their dives and in their breathing. According to video analysis and notes taken during the sequence, there are believed to have been three “leaders” in the pod. These individuals were always at the front of the group and swam parallel to each other with a spacing of approximately one body length between each of them. The other individuals swam behind these whales, always parallel and in groups of no more than six. No other whales were recorded in the area during this event, allowing the scientists to conclude that it was a single group.

Amazing behaviour

Synchronized movement, also known as collective navigation, is well known in birds. In this phenomenon, individuals on the go follow the micro-movements of those around them. Flocks of birds therefore fly along the same trajectory, creating the impression of a single entity. Offering advantages for protection from predators or in the search for territory or food, these congregations are rather spectacular. Collective navigation is also commonly observed in fish.

At the current time, no knowledge of collective navigation in fin whales seems to exist in scientific literature, though this social behaviour has been studied in other marine mammal species such as the bottlenose dolphin and the killer whale. The July 13 observation therefore provides insight into the behaviour of the fin whale, which has been designated vulnerable by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Offering advantages for protection from predators or in the search for territory or food, these congregations are rather spectacular. Collective navigation is also commonly observed in fish.

At the current time, no knowledge of collective navigation in fin whales seems to exist in scientific literature, though this social behaviour has been studied in other marine mammal species such as the bottlenose dolphin and the killer whale. The July 13 observation therefore provides insight into the behaviour of the fin whale, which has been designated vulnerable by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Imitating others to find one’s way

When they were spotted in the summer of 2021, the fin whales seemed to be “travelling from Point A to Point B,” explains Anik Boileau. It is possible that the individuals were heading toward an area with high prey density,adds the researcher. Since whales feed in summer in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence, it is possible that the group was moving toward a feeding ground where food was relatively plentiful.

Additionally, this behaviour might also be a way for whales to better orient themselves spatially. Even if their hearing and vision are well suited to their deep sea environments, evaluating distance and direction is not always so straightforward. Travelling together might therefore be a way to overcome the obstacles they face.

It is believed that each individual relies on cues from other members of the group that help them navigate their marine environment. It was also speculated that the fin whales’ two-tone jaws might help them move in sync. Indeed, as half of their jaw is white, this visual clue may help them locate one another in space and in relation to each other.

On the other hand, some studies tend to show that large groups of cetaceans on the move are less cautious than groups of two or three individuals with regard to ships sailing in the area. Other observations such as the one made by CERSI are therefore needed to fully understand the impacts of this group behaviour on cetacean well-being.

News - 23/2/2023

Odélie Brouillette

Odélie Brouillette joined the GREMM team as a writer and naturalist in 2022 and has been back since winter 2023 as a project manager in science popularization. Recently graduated in biology, she has always been fascinated by the marine environment and whales and hopes to contribute to their protection through awareness and popularization.

Recommended articles

L’automne dernier, le rorqual commun Ti-Croche a été pourvu d’une balise pour suivre sa migration. © Pêches et Océans Canada

The Winter Migration of the Fin Whale Ti-Croche

The migrations of large rorquals still hold many mysteries. Where do they go in winter? How long do they stay…

|News 1/5/2024

Cetacean Sex Lives: Beyond Reproduction

An article published a few weeks ago relates an unexpected interaction between two male humpback whales. Indeed, the two bulls…

|News 18/4/2024

Unravelling the Mysteries of Hybridization in Blue Whales

Hunted, threatened, decimated. The largest of giants suffered greatly at the hands of humans throughout the 20th century and is…

|News 11/4/2024

13 juillet 2021. Plusieurs grands souffles s’élèvent au large de Sept-Îles. Un, deux, trois souffles. Puis quatre, sept et dix. Non, plus que dix. D’un synchronisme presque parfait, ce sont 13 rorquals communs qui viennent respirer simultanément à la surface de l’eau! En se déplaçant à une vitesse assez impressionnante, ils continuent leur séquence respiratoire et passent tout près d’un bateau de recherche présent sur l’eau au même moment. Puis, en l’espace de quelques secondes, les 13 individus plongent dans les profondeurs du Saint-Laurent. Surpris, mais surtout fascinés, les scientifiques sur leur bateau réalisent qu’ils viennent d’assister à un comportement de navigation collective, peu documenté chez le rorqual commun.

Tout le monde en même temps!

Composé d’individus adultes et se déplaçant vers l’est de Sept-Îles, le groupe de 13 cétacés a été observé par le Centre d’éducation et de recherche de Sept-Îles (CERSI), qui étudie la santé et le bien-être de ces gros mammifères depuis plusieurs années. Deuxième plus grand mammifère au monde, le rorqual commun est assez imposant lorsqu’il est seul. Un groupe de 13 individus, c’est donc une observation plutôt saisissante!

Anik Boileau, chercheuse et co-fondatrice du CERSI, était sur l’eau lors de l’évènement. Elle raconte que le groupe de rorquals communs lui faisait penser à un train qui passe. « Ils s’en allaient toujours dans la même direction », ajoute-t-elle. Cette observation a été captée par vidéo. On y voit les rorquals communs qui viennent respirer à la surface tout en se déplaçant durant un peu plus d’une minute trente. Les individus plongent ensuite de manière synchrone.

Ce comportement de respiration et de plongée synchronisée a été observé à deux autres reprises par l’équipe de recherche. Le groupe de rorquals communs s’est finalement éloigné et est remonté à la surface pour une autre séquence de respiration. Les individus étant trop loin et les conditions météo étant changeantes, les scientifiques ont choisi de quitter le secteur.

Durant la totalité de l’observation, les rorquals communs étaient synchronisés, autant dans leurs déplacements et leurs plongées que pour leurs respirations. D’après l’analyse de la vidéo et des notes prises durant la séquence, il y aurait eu trois « leaders » dans le groupe de rorquals communs. Ces individus étaient toujours à l’avant du groupe et nageaient parallèlement les uns par rapport aux autres avec une distance d’environ un corps entre chacun d’eux. Les autres individus nageaient derrière ces baleines, toujours en parallèle et en groupe de six au maximum. Aucune autre baleine n’a été recensée dans le secteur durant cet évènement, permettant aux scientifiques de conclure qu’il s’agissait d’un seul et même groupe.

Un comportement étonnant

Le comportement de déplacement synchronisé, aussi appelé navigation collective, est bien connu chez les oiseaux. C’est un phénomène où les individus en déplacement suivent les micros-mouvements de ceux qui se trouvent à leurs côtés. Les groupes d’oiseaux se déplacent donc en suivant la même trajectoire et donnent l’impression d’une seule et même entité.

Avantageuses dans la protection contre les prédateurs et bénéfiques dans la recherche de territoire ou de nourriture, ces nuées d’oiseaux sont plutôt spectaculaires. La navigation collective est aussi couramment observée chez les poissons.

À l’heure actuelle, aucune connaissance concernant la navigation collective ne semble exister pour le rorqual commun dans la littérature scientifique, bien que ce comportement social ait été étudié chez d’autres espèces de mammifères marins comme le grand dauphin et l’épaulard. L’observation du 13 juillet ouvre donc la porte à une meilleure compréhension du comportement du rorqual commun, désigné vulnérable par l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN).

Imiter pour mieux s’orienter

Lorsqu’ils ont été aperçus à l’été 2021, les rorquals communs semblaient « passer du point A au point B », explique Anik Boileau. La chercheuse ajoute qu’il est possible que les individus étaient en déplacement afin d’aller dans un secteur où il y avait une grande densité de proies. Effectivement, puisque les baleines viennent dans le golfe et l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent durant la saison estivale pour s’alimenter, il est envisageable que le groupe se déplaçait vers une zone d’alimentation où il y avait une certaine abondance de nourriture.

En outre, ce synchronisme pourrait aussi être un moyen qu’ont les baleines pour mieux s’orienter dans leur environnement. Évaluer les distances et les directions, malgré une ouïe et une vision adaptée aux fonds marins, ce n’est pas toujours évident. En se déplaçant en groupe, les individus pourraient donc se fier aux indices captés et fournis par les autres baleines à proximité.

Il a aussi été avancé que la mâchoire bicolore des rorquals communs pourrait potentiellement les aider à se déplacer en synchronisme. Effectivement, comme la moitié de leur mâchoire est blanche, cet indice visuel les aiderait à se localiser dans l’espace et les uns par rapport aux autres.

D’un autre côté, certaines études tendant à montrer que de grands groupes de cétacés en déplacement sont moins vigilants que des groupes de deux ou trois individus face aux navires présents dans le secteur. D’autres observations comme celle faite par le CERSI seront donc nécessaires afin de bien comprendre quels sont les impacts de ce comportement de groupe sur le bien-être des cétacés.

Actualité - 23/2/2023

Odélie Brouillette

Odélie Brouillette s’est jointe à l’équipe du GREMM comme rédactrice et naturaliste en 2022 et elle est de retour depuis l'hiver 2023 comme chargée de projet en vulgarisation scientifique. Biologiste de formation, elle aime apprendre et communiquer aux autres ce qui lui tient à cœur. Fascinée depuis toujours par les milieux marins et les baleines, elle souhaite, par la sensibilisation et la vulgarisation, contribuer à leur protection.

Articles recommandés

La réduction de vitesse en présence de baleines fait ses preuves

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé pourquoi des limites de vitesse sont imposées dans certains secteurs de navigation? Une partie de la…

|Actualité 29/2/2024

L’encourageante histoire écologique de la baleine grise

Chacune à leur façon, toutes les espèces de notre planète doivent composer avec les conséquences de l’action humaine, traçant ainsi,…

|Actualité 22/2/2024

De bonnes nouvelles pour les bélugas du Saint-Laurent

La journée internationale de la baleine est l’occasion idéale pour mettre de l’avant de grandes annonces pour les bélugas! Grâce…

|Actualité 19/2/2024