More and more studies are suggesting that numerous so-called endocrine disruptors are accumulating in the tissues of whales and posing a threat to their health. Endocrine disruptors are substances that can interfere with the normal functioning of hormone regulation in an individual and thus potentially interfere with associated biological functions. But how exactly do contaminants interfere with the biological functions of whales? A recent study – conducted by Jonathan Verreault’s laboratory at the Université du Québec à Montréal and published in the  Marine Pollution Bulletin – provides some very promising answers to this question that the scientific community has been asking for years.

According to this study, which focused on belugas and minke whales in the St. Lawrence, the transcription of certain genes involved in hormone regulation (mainly in these animals) was correlated with the concentrations of several contaminants accumulated in their tissues.

First of all, what is gene transcription?

Whales, just like us and many other living organisms, are made up of billions of cells. Each of these cells has a nucleus that contains our DNA. This DNA is composed of thousands of genes, each of which can be considered the recipe for the synthesis of a protein. In fact, in the cell’s nucleus, the gene will first be transcribed into a small segment of RNA (a molecule close to DNA, but that can easily slip out of the nucleus), which is later translated into a protein. Whether as enzymes, hormones or structuring material, proteins can play very different roles and contribute to a multitude of biological functions!

If the transcription of a gene is disrupted, then the synthesis of the protein that it codes can also be affected. If it is a protein that is critical for a biological function, then the entire biological function may be affected.

In the study, researchers looked at protein-coding genes involved in the regulation of certain hormones (thyroid, cortisol (stress hormone) and estrogen) related to reproduction, stress response or energy metabolism. They wanted to determine whether there were links between contaminant concentrations and the amount of RNA derived from the transcription of the genes studied.

What is a contaminant and which ones were selected in this study?

A contaminant is a chemical molecule that is foreign to an organism (not produced by it) and which, at a certain level, can cause an imbalance in the exposed organism. The study focuses on several persistent organic pollutants (POPs) and emerging halogenated flame retardants (HFRs). The latter are used in several industrial sectors (textiles, building materials, electronics, upholstery) to replace POPs that have been banned from production and use around the world.

Several of these contaminants were chosen because they were found in large quantities in the beluga and minke whale carcasses discovered on the shores of the St. Lawrence, but also because of their endocrine-disrupting properties. Thanks to monitoring efforts of beluga carcasses by Université de Montréal’s Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, it has been observed that over the past 10 years, more and more females found stranded along the St. Lawrence have died due to calving-related difficulties. These endocrine disruptors are therefore suspected to be one of the factors that may have contributed to the mortality of these animals.

The research team biopsied skin and fat samples from 45 male and 11 female minke whales. Contaminants were quantified in the fat samples and the amount of RNA derived from gene transcription was measured in the skin.

The results indicated a number of correlations (positive or negative) between the concentrations of certain contaminants and the amount of RNA for certain genes.

Example of positive correlation: Concentrations of the contaminant hexabromobenzene (HBB) were positively correlated with the RNA levels associated with the ESRα (estrogen receptor alpha) gene. Thus, the higher the concentration of this contaminant, the higher the production of RNA.

Example of negative correlation: Conversely, for minke whales, HBB concentrations were negatively correlated with the RNA levels associated with the NR3C1 gene. Thus, the higher the concentration of this contaminant, the lower the amount of RNA produced.

The results therefore suggest that many of the studied contaminants might have an impact on important biological functions such as energy metabolism, stress response, and reproduction by increasing or decreasing the transcription of the protein-coding genes involved in these functions. However, the authors remain cautious about the findings, as other factors such as age or diet may have influenced the observed correlations between contaminants and gene transcription. Further studies will be required to corroborate their hypothesis. Nevertheless, this study is a very promising starting point to better understand the action mechanisms of contaminants on the biological functions of whales, including minke whales and the endangered population of St. Lawrence belugas.

This study could serve as a reference for public decision-makers to take action to reduce anthropogenic impacts on belugas, minke whales and cetaceans in general.

 

Source:

(2019) Simond. A, Houde M.,Lesage V., Michaud R., Zbinden D., Verreault J., Associations between organohalogen exposure and thyroid- and steroid- related  genes responses in Saint Lawrence Estuary belugas and minke whales. in Marine POllution bulletin 145 (2019) 174-184

News - 18/10/2019

Camille Proust

Camille Proust joined GREMM’s team in 2019 as head of educational projects. After several years of training and professional experience in the field of biology education, she is now able to fully participate in a mission that is particularly dear to her: raising public awareness about the fascinating albeit fragile lives of the whales of the St. Lawrence.

Recommended articles

DL dents

What do St. Lawrence belugas eat?

It may seem surprising, but up until a few months ago, the diet of the St. Lawrence beluga was not…

|News, Whale Q&A 1/9/2020

Stray Whales: Lost or Just Exploring?

Every so often, a solitary whale makes headlines. It might be a beluga seen off the coast San Diego, California,…

|News 18/8/2020

Sanctuary for Retired Belugas: Another Step Toward a Natural Habitat

The first two residents of a whale sanctuary have now been swimming in Klettsvik Bay since August 8, 2020. Belugas…

|News 18/8/2020

Des contaminants rendraient les gènes fous!

  • À partir d'un petit morceau de gras prélevé sur un béluga, les chercheurs peuvent étudier sa contamination. // With a sample of skin and fat, the research team will study the beluga contamination. © GREMM
    17 / 10 / 2019 Par Camille Proust

    De plus en plus d’études indiquent que de nombreux contaminants dits perturbateurs endocriniens s’accumulent dans les tissus des baleines, ce qui représente une menace pour leur santé. Des perturbateurs endocriniens sont des substances qui peuvent gêner le fonctionnement normal de la régulation des hormones chez un individu et donc potentiellement perturber les fonctions biologiques qui y sont associées. Mais comment exactement les contaminants interfèrent-ils dans les fonctions biologiques des baleines? Une récente étude du laboratoire de Jonathan Verreault de l’Université du Québec à Montréal parue dans Marine Pollution Bulletin, donne quelques éléments de réponse très prometteurs à cette question que se pose la communauté scientifique depuis longtemps.

    Selon cette étude, qui s’est intéressée aux bélugas et aux petits rorquals du Saint-Laurent, la transcription de certains gènes impliqués dans la régulation d’hormones principalement chez ces animaux était corrélée avec les concentrations de plusieurs contaminants accumulés dans leurs tissus.

    Tout d’abord, qu’est-ce que la transcription des gènes?

    Les baleines, comme nous et de nombreux autres êtres vivants, sont composées de milliards de cellules. Ces cellules possèdent en chacune d’elle un noyau contenant notre ADN. Cet ADN est composé de milliers de gènes qui peuvent être considérés chacun comme la recette de cuisine pour la synthèse d’une protéine. En effet, dans le noyau de la cellule, le gène va d’abord être transcrit en un petit segment d’ARN (une molécule proche de l’ADN, mais qui peut se glisser facilement en dehors du noyau de la cellule), puis ce segment d’ARN va être traduit en une protéine. Enzymes, hormones ou matériel structurant, les protéines peuvent avoir des rôles bien différents et elles contribuent à plusieurs fonctions biologiques !

    Si la transcription d’un gène est perturbée, alors la synthèse de la protéine qu’il code pourra également être affectée. S’il s’agit d’une protéine très importante pour une fonction biologique, alors c’est la fonction biologique entière qui pourra être affectée.

    Schéma de l’explication plausible de l’effet de certains contaminants sur des fonctions biologiques © GREMM

     

    Dans l’étude, les chercheurs se sont penchés sur des gènes codant des protéines impliquées dans la régulation de certaines hormones (thyroïde, cortisol (hormone du stress) et œstrogènes) impliquées dans la reproduction, la réponse au stress ou le métabolisme énergétique. Ils ont voulu regarder s’il existait des liens entre les concentrations de contaminants et la quantité d’ARN issu de la transcription des gènes étudiés.

    Qu’est-ce qu’un contaminant et lesquels ont été choisis dans cette étude?

    Un contaminant est une molécule chimique étrangère à un organisme (non produite par celui-ci), qui, en une certaine quantité, peut provoquer un dérèglement de l’organisme exposé. L’étude s’intéresse à plusieurs contaminants organiques persistants (POP) et des retardateurs de flamme halogénés (RFH) émergents. Ces derniers sont utilisés dans plusieurs secteurs industriels (textile, matériaux de construction, électronique, produits rembourrés) en remplacement de POP qui ont été interdits de production et d’utilisations à travers le monde.

    Plusieurs de ces contaminants ont été choisis, car ils ont été retrouvés en grandes quantités dans le gras des carcasses de bélugas et de petits rorquals trouvées sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, mais également à cause de leurs propriétés de perturbation endocrinienne. Grâce au suivi des carcasses de béluga du Saint-Laurent par la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l’Université de Montréal, il a été observé que depuis les 10 dernières années, de plus en plus de femelles retrouvées échouées le long du Saint-Laurent étaient mortes à cause de problèmes reliés à des mises bas difficiles. Ces perturbateurs endocriniens sont donc suspectés d’être un des facteurs ayant pu contribuer à la mortalité de ces animaux.

    L’équipe de recherche a récolté par biopsie des échantillons de peau et de graisse pour 45 bélugas mâles et 11 petits rorquals femelles. Les contaminants ont été quantifiés dans le gras de ces échantillons et la quantité d’ARN issu de la transcription des gènes étudiés a été mesurée dans la peau.

    Leurs résultats indiquaient plusieurs corrélations (parfois positives, parfois négatives) entre les concentrations de plusieurs contaminants et la quantité d’ARN pour certains gènes.

    Exemple de corrélation positive : Les concentrations du contaminant hexabromobenzène (HBB) étaient positivement corrélées aux quantités d’ARN associées au gène Esrα (récepteur alpha des œstrogènes). Ainsi, plus la concentration de ce contaminant était élevée, et plus la quantité d’ARN produite était élevée.

    Exemple de corrélation négative : À l’inverse, pour les petits rorquals, les concentrations du contaminant HBB étaient négativement corrélées aux quantités d’ARN associées au gène Nr3c1. Ainsi, plus la concentration de ce contaminant était élevée, et plus la quantité d’ARN produite était faible.

    Les résultats suggèrent donc que plusieurs des contaminants étudiés pourraient avoir un impact sur des fonctions biologiques importantes, comme le métabolisme énergétique, la réponse au stress, et la reproduction, en augmentant ou en diminuant la transcription de gènes codant des protéines impliquées dans ces fonctions. Cependant, les auteurs restent prudents sur les conclusions, car d’autres facteurs comme l’âge ou la diète auraient pu influencer les corrélations observées entre les contaminants et la transcription des gènes. Il faudra donc d’autres études pour corroborer leur hypothèse. Néanmoins, cette étude constitue un point de départ très prometteur pour mieux comprendre les mécanismes d’actions des contaminants sur les fonctions biologiques des baleines, notamment des petits rorquals et de la population en voie de disparition des bélugas du Saint-Laurent.

    Cette étude pourrait faire partie des nombreuses données permettant aux décideurs publics d’intervenir pour diminuer les impacts d’origine anthropique sur les bélugas, les petits rorquals et les cétacés en général.


    Camille Proust a rejoint l’équipe du GREMM en 2019 en tant que responsable des projets éducatifs. Après plusieurs années d’études et d’expériences professionnelles dans le domaine de l’éducation en biologie, elle participe maintenant à une mission qui la touche particulièrement : faire découvrir l’univers passionnant mais fragile des baleines du Saint-Laurent.