In the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park as well as in the Mingan and Sept-Îles sectors, humpback and fin whale sightings are on the upswing. Research teams definitely have their work cut out for them to analyze the photos and identify all of these individuals! Elsewhere in the St. Lawrence, the smell of summer (and smoke!) is in the air with the presence of belugas, harbour porpoises, seals and minke whales.

Action on the North Shore

Déjà, H698 (Aramis), H509 (Tic Tac Toe), H930 (Guadeloupe) and H8032 (Garou) were all spotted in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park. The whales were identified by the research team at the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM). Two fin whales were also reported in the area, in addition to harbour seals and grey seals.

The Mingan Island Cetacean Study team was also treated to its share of whales. During a trip out to sea in the Mingan sector, this crew was able to observe a dozen or so humpbacks and four fin whales. A few individuals were recognized fairly quickly, including H263 (Moby), H588 (Hockey), H109 (Tracks) and H671 (Pythagoras). Several minke whales, harbour porpoises and white-sided dolphins were also spotted in the area.

Photo-identification is used to identify these individuals. This technique allows scientists to track the movements, behaviours and social organization of whales. In humpbacks, the colour pattern of the caudal fin is unique to each individual and greatly facilitates this exercise. However, some individuals, such as Garou or Aramis, do not always show their tail when they dive, meaning one must rely on their natural markings and the shape of their dorsal fin.

In Franquelin, a marine mammal enthusiast was able to spot a minke whale through the waves. A local resident reportedly saw two humpback whales, not to mention that harbour porpoises and grey seals were also observed in the area.

Exciting observations from L’Isle-aux-Coudres

A seasoned boater from L’Isle-aux-Coudres wrote to our team earlier in the week to share his sightings of several marine mammals. “From the northern shore of Isle aux Coudres, I was able to observe what appeared to me to be harbour porpoises. Possibly two or three, more or less in the middle of the river, opposite the wharf in St-Joseph-de-la-Rive, just as the tide was starting to fall and heading upriver toward Baie-St-Paul.” Indeed, his description of the animals corresponds to this species: a small, dark, fast-swimming cetacean with a visible dorsal fin and a rounded back. It was the first time he had ever seen these small cetaceans in the waters around the island. That wasn’t all, however, as there was a good diversity of marine life that day. “There was also a minke whale, which is rarer in the area, but not impossible and anyway much bigger.” Needless to say, the presence of food might have attracted all these fascinating creatures! “Judging by the how the seabirds such as cormorants and other diving ducks were behaving, together with the presence of belugas and a seal, food was most likely abundant.”

 

The joys of being at the water’s edge

Living near the shores of the St. Lawrence River has many advantages! Including being able to admire marine mammals at the end of one’s workday. In La Malbaie, a resident was able to see a pinniped while out shopping: “I noticed something moving on a rock in the distance. I parked the car and was able to watch this beautiful animal. It was present two days in a row, providing a little moment of magic at the end of my day.”

Up and down the coast, sightings are on the rise: belugas in Saint-Siméon, belugas, harbour porpoises and harbour seals at the mouth of the Saguenay Fjord from Pointe de L’Islet in Tadoussac and Pointe-Noire in Baie-Sainte-Catherine. At Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes, a humpback whale showed up, not to mention the minke whales and porpoises that also made appearances.

In Les Escoumins, a few lucky souls were able to observe a humpback whale in all its splendour as it performed a full breach near the Marine Environment Discovery Centre. These acrobatics are part of the species’ usual behavioural repertoire. Although this display managed to wow the gallery, its origins are more mysterious. Play, seduction during reproduction, communication between individuals… many hypotheses exist to explain the purpose of breaches. It is also possible that whales adopt this behaviour to rid themselves of the parasites covering their skin or to improve their diving capability.

Elsewhere in the St. Lawrence

Our dedicated observers reported the presence of seals in Sainte-Anne-des-Monts, Matane, Métis-sur-Mer and Grande-Vallée. Minke whales and humpbacks are still present in the Gaspé Bay sector. Two minke whales were also seen from the shores of Chaleur Bay. A most interesting observation of pilot whales was also shared with our team from mariners in the Gulf of St. Lawrence!

Where are the whales this week? Observations map

These infomations were reported by our network of observers. They give an idea of the presence of whales and in no way represent the actual distribution of whales in the St. Lawrence river. Simply use it for fun!

Click on the whale or seal icons to discover the species, the number of individuals, additional information or photos of the sighting. To enlarge the map, click on the icon in the top right-hand corner. The map works well on Chrome and Firefox, but not so well on Safari.

To display the list of sightings, click on the icon in the top left-hand corner.

Observation of the Week - 29/6/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Belugas in color and minke whales in action!

This week in the St. Lawrence, beluga vocalizations accompany the northern lights, while minke whales attract attention with their spectacular…

|Observation of the Week 16/5/2024

Minke Whales Disguised as Orcas

Between the splashing waves, we spot a couple dark fins moving. We can definitely recognize the signs of a large…

|Observation of the Week 10/5/2024
Béluga du Saint-Laurent

The Excitement of White Whales

Increasing numbers of groups of belugas are being spotted in the estuary, swimming amongst the quietly returning minke whales. Harbour…

|Observation of the Week 2/5/2024

Dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, comme dans le coin de Mingan et de Sept-Îles, les rorquals à bosse et les rorquals communs présents se multiplient. Les équipes de recherche ont définitivement du pain sur la planche pour analyser les photos et identifier tous ces individus! Ailleurs dans le Saint-Laurent, on sent des effluves d’été – et de fumée! – avec la présence de bélugas, de marsouins communs, de phoques et de petits rorquals.

De l’action en Côte-Nord

Déjà, H698 (Aramis),  H509 (Tic Tac Toe), H930 (Guadeloupe) et H8032 (Garou) ont été repérés dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent. Les baleines ont pu être identifiées par l’équipe de recherche du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM). Deux rorquals communs ont aussi été vus dans le secteur, en plus de phoques communs et de phoques gris.

L’équipe de la station de recherche des îles Mingan a aussi eu droit à son lot de baleines. Lors d’une sortie en mer dans le coin de Mingan, ils ont pu observer une dizaine de rorquals à bosse et quatre rorquals communs. Quelques individus ont pu être reconnus assez rapidement, dont H263 (Moby), H588 (Hockey), H109 (Tracks) et H671 (Pythagore). Quelques petits rorquals, des marsouins communs et des dauphins à flancs blancs ont aussi été repérés dans la région.

C’est la photo-identification qui est utilisée pour reconnaître les individus. Elle permet aux scientifiques de suivre les déplacements, les comportements et l’organisation sociale des baleines. Le patron de coloration de la nageoire caudale des rorquals à bosse est unique et facilite grandement cette opération. Cependant, certains individus, comme Garou ou Aramis, ne montrent pas toujours la nageoire caudale en plongeant et il faut donc se fier aux marques naturelles et à la forme de la nageoire dorsale.

À Franquelin, une passionnée des mammifères marins a pu voir un petit rorqual à travers les vagues. Un riverain aurait vu deux rorquals à bosse, sans compter que des marsouins communs et des phoques gris ont aussi été observés dans le coin.

De belles observations à L’Isle-aux-Coudres

Un plaisancier aguerri et originaire de l’Isle-aux-Coudres a écrit à notre équipe en début de semaine pour partager la présence de plusieurs mammifères marins. « À partir de la berge du côté nord de l’Isle aux Coudres, j’ai pu observer, à ce qu’il me semble, des marsouins communs. Possiblement deux ou trois, plus ou moins au milieu du fleuve, à la hauteur du quai de St-Joseph-de-la-Rive, au début de la marée baissant, et remontant le fleuve vers Baie-St-Paul. » La description des animaux aperçus correspond effectivement à l’espèce : couleurs foncées, nageoire dorsale, petite taille, dos rond et nage rapide. C’était la première fois qu’il voyait ces petits cétacés dans les eaux entourant l’ile. L’insulaire n’avait cependant pas terminé, la faune marine présente était diversifiée. « Il y avait aussi un petit rorqual. Plus rare dans le secteur, mais pas impossible et de toute façon beaucoup plus gros. » Sans doute la présence de nourriture a pu attirer tout ce beau monde! « À en juger par le comportement des oiseaux marins – cormorans et autres canards plongeurs –, la présence de bélugas et d’un phoque, la nourriture semblait abondante. »

Les joies du bord de l’eau

Habiter sur le bord du fleuve Saint-Laurent a bien des avantages! Dont celui d’admirer des mammifères marins à la fin de sa journée de travail. À La Malbaie, une résidente a pu voir un pinnipède en allant faire ses commissions : « j’ai remarqué quelque chose qui bougeait sur un rocher au loin. Je me suis stationnée et j’ai pu découvrir ce bel animal. Il y était deux jours de suite. Petit moment magique de fin de journée. »

Le long de la côte, les observations se multiplient :  des bélugas à Saint-Siméon, des marsouins communs, des bélugas et des phoques communs à l’embouchure du fjord du Saguenay depuis la pointe de L’Islet à Tadoussac ou Pointe-Noire à Baie-Sainte-Catherine. Au cap de Bon-Désir, aux Bergeronnes, un rorqual à bosse a pointé le bout de sa dorsale sans compter les petits rorquals et les marsouins qui ont aussi fait des apparitions.

Aux Escoumins, des chanceux et chanceuses ont pu voir un rorqual à bosse dans toute sa splendeur, en plein saut, au Centre de découverte du milieu marin. Ces acrobaties sont appelées breachs dans le jargon scientifique, et font partie du répertoire de comportement habituel de l’espèce. Si ce spectacle a de quoi épater la galerie, ses origines sont plus mystérieuses. Jeu, séduction pendant la reproduction ou communication entre les individus, les hypothèses pour expliquer les breachs sont nombreuses. Il est aussi possible que les baleines adoptent ce comportement pour se débarrasser des parasites qui recouvrent leur peau ou encore pour améliorer leur capacité de plongée.

Ailleurs dans le Saint-Laurent

Nos observateurs et observatrices dévoués nous ont partagé la présence de phoques à Sainte-Anne-des-Monts, Matane, Métis-sur-Mer et Grande-Vallée. Les petits rorquals et les rorquals à bosse sont toujours présents dans le secteur de la baie de Gaspé. Deux petits rorquals auraient également été vus depuis la rive dans la baie des Chaleurs. Une observation très intéressante a aussi été partagée avec notre équipe : des navigateurs dans le Saint-Laurent ont vu des globicéphales noirs dans le golfe!

Où sont les baleines cette semaine? La carte des observations

Ces données ont été rapportées par notre réseau d’observatrices et observateurs. Elles donnent une idée de la présence des baleines et ne représentent pas du tout la répartition réelle des baleines dans le Saint-Laurent. À utiliser pour le plaisir!

Cliquez sur les icônes de baleine ou de phoque pour découvrir l’espèce, le nombre d’individus, des informations supplémentaires ou des photos de l’observation. Pour agrandir la carte, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur droit. La carte fonctionne bien sur Chrome et Firefox, mais pas aussi bien sur Safari.

Pour faire apparaitre la liste des observations, cliquez sur l’icône du coin supérieur gauche.

Observations de la semaine - 29/6/2023

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Les mammifères marins dans l’éclipse

Les bords du fleuve Saint-Laurent ont été bercés par des lumières de coucher de soleil lors de l’éclipse du 8…

|Observations de la semaine 11/4/2024

Des baleines d’avril

« Des rorquals communs aux Escoumins », commente une observatrice assidue, mais tout de même impressionnée : « Leurs souffles puissants…

|Observations de la semaine 4/4/2024

Une semaine de grands rorquals

Des grands rorquals qui continuent d’épater la galerie, quelques bélugas, des phoques du Groenland se reposant sur les glaces et…

|Observations de la semaine 28/3/2024