From the small harbour porpoise to the titanic blue whale: the wide range of sightings offered by the St. Lawrence is not just for those who take to the sea. Whales often come close enough to shore to be observed.

Out in the Gaspé

There was action in the Gaspé this week! “Between Rivière-au-Renard and Gaspé Bay, I would estimate that there are between 40 and 60 whales – and that’s no exaggeration,” says one captain/naturalist. “In the beginning, there were minke whales and a few fins. But for the past two days, there have also been several humpbacks that have arrived. They are scattered throughout the area, but in the bay, we were treated to mediocre displays. It’s capelin season and the whales are coming very, very close to the coast.” Indeed, it is often possible to observe foraging minke whales from shore as they trap fish by cornering them against the wharves or rocks.

All along the Gaspé coast, observers gazing out to sea are delighted; breaching humpbacks near Percé Rock, minke whales near Paspébiac, two blue whales off Cap-des-Rosiers, and dozens of minke whales opposite Cloridorme. Some of the smaller cetaceans have also shown the tips of their dorsals, with harbour porpoises being seen off Grande-Grave.  A whale enthusiast living in Saint-Yvon relates her extraordinary evening of June 12: “We were seeing blows nearly everywhere and almost constantly. When we stopped for dinner in the evening, we thought our weekend was coming to an end. But there were breaching humpbacks  at Pointe à Mimi, in addition to 2 or 3 fin whales, harbour porpoises, and minke whales. A genuine show, and a very, very good way to kick off the season.”

First beluga calf

In the heart of the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park, herds of harp seals are on the move, harbour seals bask on the rocks along the Saguenay Fjord, and humpback whales come to breathe at the water surface. A minke whale and a fin whale were observed on June 11 at Cap de Bon-Désir in Les Bergeronnes, while a group of approximately 30 to 40 belugas have been regularly going up and down the Saguenay and observed from Tadoussac.

What caught our attention in the estuary this week is the observation by naturalist and wildlife photographer Renaud Pintiaux of the first beluga calf of the year in the St. Lawrence! “Newborns are recognizable by their soft tail, fetal folds, a ‘black-and-blue’ eye and a swimming behaviour that is typical of calves,” explains GREMM’s scientific director Robert Michaud. “It’s early in the season for a first birth, but it remains within the expected limits for this population.”

Storms, mist and spouts

At Anse au Sac in Saint-Irénée, a passionate resident observes belugas. “We saw a number of animals under the coal-grey sky, just ahead of the approaching storm. There was a rainbow as they passed by; it was beautiful.” Seemingly undistracted by the storm, the white whales continue on their way. A little farther east, travellers passing through Cap-à-l’Aigle in La Malbaie are greeted by morning fog as they enjoy their breakfast on the water’s edge. Nevertheless, a minke whale near shore emerges beneath the shroud. On the opposite shore, at the docks in Rivière-Ouelle, belugas can be seen regularly, but local residents are surprised to observe a baleen species for the first time in their region on June 12: a minke whale!

Off Pointe-Lebel, opposite Pointe Paradis, minke whales are still present and the breath of a large whale was spotted in the distance. Given the rounded shape of the spout, it was probably a humpback. In Gallix, a few large blasts blur the horizon, while in the Mingan Archipelago region, a few minke whales are observed, not to mention hundreds of grey seals and about fifty harp seals.

 

Observation of the Week - 16/6/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest is the editor-in-chief of Whales Online since may 2022. After studying in environment and biology, she turned to science communication with the goal of making science both accessible and fun. Andréanne wishes to highlight the process of acquiring knowledge while transmitting the desire to learn.

Recommended articles

Not one… not two… but six humpbacks!

This week, a few humpback whales were still present in the St. Lawrence and residents were even treated to an…

|Observation of the Week 25/11/2022

White as Snow… Or a Beluga!

As fluffy snowflakes invaded eastern Quebec and a white blanket quietly covered the ground, marine mammals continued on with their…

|Observation of the Week 17/11/2022

Humpback Whale Season Winding Down

As winter approaches, migratory whale species are slowly beginning to leave. Although humpback whales are becoming more scarce, the waters…

|Observation of the Week 10/11/2022

Du petit marsouin commun au titanesque rorqual bleu : l’immense palette d’observation qu’offre le Saint-Laurent n’est pas réservée aux navigateurs. Les baleines s’approchent souvent suffisamment des côtes pour être observées. 

Un rendez-vous en Gaspésie

Il y eut de l’action chez les cétacés en Gaspésie cette semaine! «J’estimerais qu’il y a entre 40 et 60 baleines, sans exagérer, entre Rivière-au-Renard et l’intérieur de la baie de Gaspé, raconte un capitaine-naturaliste. Au début, il y avait des petits rorquals et quelques rorquals communs. Mais depuis deux jours, il y a aussi plusieurs baleines à bosses qui sont arrivées. Elles sont toutes éparpillées dans le secteur, mais dans la baie, on a eu droit à des moyens spectacles. C’est le temps du capelan et les baleines viennent très très proches des côtes.» En effet, il est souvent possible, depuis le rivage, d’observer les petits rorquals en alimentation : ils piègent les poissons en les acculant contre les quais ou les rochers.

Tout le long de la côte gaspésienne, les observateurs qui ont les yeux tournés vers le large sont ravis; des breachs de baleines à bosse devant le rocher Percé, des petits rorquals au banc de Paspébiac, deux rorquals bleus du côté de Cap-des-Rosiers, des dizaines de petits rorquals à Cloridorme. Quelques petites baleines ont aussi pointé le bout de leurs nageoires dorsales : des  marsouins communs ont été aperçus au large de Grande-Grave.  Une passionnée des baleines habitant Saint-Yvon raconte sa soirée extraordinaire du 12 juin dernier: «on voyait des souffles un peu partout et presque tout le temps. À la fin de la journée, on s’est arrêtées pour souper, on pensait qu’on avait terminé notre fin de semaine. Mais il y a eu des breach de baleines à bosse sur la pointe à Mimi, 2 ou 3 rorquals communs, des marsouins communs, des petits rorquals. Ça a été un vrai show. Un très très très bon début de saison.»

Un premier veau pour les bélugas

Au coeur du parc marin du Saguenay – Saint-Laurent, des phoques du Groenland se déplacent en mouvée, des phoques communs se prélassent sur les roches qui longent le fjord du Saguenay, et des rorquals à bosses viennent souffler à la surface de l’eau. Un petit rorqual et un rorqual commun sont observés le 11 juin au cap de Bon-Désir aux Bergeronnes et un groupe d’environ 30 à 40 bélugas remonte et descend régulièrement la rivière Saguenay et sont observés de Tadoussac.

Ce qui retient plutôt l’attention cette semaine dans l’estuaire, c’est l’observation du premier veau de l’année chez les bélugas du Saint-Laurent, par le naturaliste et photographe animalier Renaud Pintiaux! «Les nouveau-nés  sont reconnaissables à une queue molle, des plis fœtaux, un œil au beurre noir et un comportement de nage typique des veaux», explique Robert Michaud, directeur scientifique du GREMM. «C’est tôt en saison pour une première naissance, mais cela reste dans les limites attendues pour cette population.»

Des orages, de la brume et des souffles

À l’Anse au Sac à Saint-Irénée, une résidente passionnée observe des bélugas. « Nous en avons vu des bêtes, juste avant l’orage qui s’en venait, avec le ciel gris anthracite. Il y a eu un arc-en-ciel au  moment où elles sont passées et c’était magnifique.» Mais les baleines blanches ne semblent pas distraites par l’orage, et continuent leur chemin. Un peu plus à l’est, pour des voyageurs de passage du côté de Cap-à-l’Aigle à La Malbaie c’est le brouillard qui les accueille le matin lorsqu’ils déjeunent sur le bord de l’eau. Un petit rorqual viendra tout de même percer le brouillard à proximité de la rive. Juste en face, sur la rive sud, au quai de Rivière-Ouelle, on aperçoit des bélugas régulièrement, mais c’est la surprise pour les riverains lorsque ceux-ci observent le 12 juin une baleine à fanon pour la première fois dans leur région : un petit rorqual!

Au large de Pointe-Lebel, en face de pointe Paradis, les petits rorquals sont toujours présents et le souffle d’une grande baleine est aperçu au loin. Probablement un rorqual à bosse au vu de la forme arrondie du souffle. À  Gallix quelques grands souffles brouillent l’horizon, tandis qu’à proximité de l’archipel de Mingan, quelques petits rorquals sont observés, ainsi que des centaines de phoques gris et une cinquantaine de phoques du Groenland.

Observations de la semaine - 16/6/2022

Andréanne Forest

Andréanne Forest est rédactrice en chef de Baleines en direct depuis mai 2022. Après des études en environnement et en biologie, elle se tourne vers la communication scientifique dans l’objectif de rendre la science à la fois accessible et amusante. Andréanne souhaite mettre en lumière la démarche d’acquisition de connaissance tout en transmettant le désir d’apprendre.

Articles recommandés

Bosses, phoques et bélugas

Cette semaine, un peu partout dans le Saint-Laurent, les rorquals à bosse mènent le bal des observations, accompagnés d’autres espèces…

|Observations de la semaine 23/9/2022

Brouillard sur les flots

La dernière semaine aura été marquée par la présence de brouillard un peu partout sur le Saint-Laurent. Des Iles de…

|Observations de la semaine 15/9/2022

Nez blanc, dos gris moucheté et souffles dorés

Sur les flots, les conditions clémentes des derniers jours ont permis l’observation de plusieurs mammifères marins, dont une espèce qui…

|Observations de la semaine 8/9/2022