Do you tend to carry your baby on your left? And does your child tend to position themselves so that you are on their left when they move? If so, you’re not the only one: like humans, mothers and babies of several species of marine mammals tend to position themselves this way! This positioning is believed not only to reinforce the bond between mother and offspring, but also to increase the chances of survival of young wild mammals.

In a study published this month in the scientific journal Nature Ecology and Evolution, researchers examined mother-offspring positioning in eleven species of wild mammals in different parts of the world, including four species of marine mammals: walruses, belugas, killer whales and southern right whales.

Anytime a newborn approached its mother from behind, researchers noted whether it was on the left or right side of its mother. They recorded nearly 11,000 position choices for 175 mother-offspring pairs. Newborns of all species studied had a tendency – about three times out of four – to position themselves on their mother’s right side (so that their mother was on their left). These findings are consistent with a recent study in humans, showing that children most often approach adults so that they are on their left.

Researchers also found that mammal babies who keep their mothers to their left are better able to follow her, thus increasing their chances of survival. Notably, when newborn whales swim with their mother on their left, they more readily maintain the bond with her by rubbing against her body and are less likely to be accidentally left behind.

However, if a threat arises, positions tend to inverse. Although babies most often position themselves to the right of their mothers (so that the mother is on their left) in normal situations, in stress situations, for instance in the presence of a predator, mothers prefer to position their newborn on their left.

Why these positioning preferences? They seem to be linked to the different roles of the cerebral hemispheres. Information from the left eye is analyzed by the right hemisphere of the brain, which in mammals is also responsible for the processing of social signals and the development of relationships between individuals. Looking at mother or child with this eye might therefore favour interactions and mother-offspring bonding, in addition to optimizing maternal surveillance.

News - 24/1/2017

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Avez-vous tendance à porter votre bébé du côté gauche? Et votre enfant a-t-il tendance à se positionner de façon à ce que vous soyez à sa gauche lorsqu’il se déplace? Si oui, vous n’êtes pas les seuls: les mères et les bébés de plusieurs espèces de mammifères marins, tout comme les humains, ont tendance à se positionner ainsi! Ce positionnement favoriserait non seulement l’attachement mère-enfant, mais augmenterait aussi les chances de survie des jeunes mammifères sauvages.

Dans une étude publiée ce mois-ci dans la revue scientifique Nature Ecology and Evolution, les chercheurs ont examiné le positionnement mère-enfant chez onze espèces de mammifères sauvages dans différentes parties du monde, dont quatre espèces de mammifères marins: le morse, le béluga, l’épaulard et la baleine franche australe.

Chaque fois qu’un bébé s’approchait de sa mère par-derrière, les chercheurs ont noté si celui-ci se positionnait du côté gauche ou droit de sa mère. Ils ont enregistré près de 11 000 choix de positions pour 175 couples mère-enfant. Les bébés de toutes les espèces étudiées avaient tendance — environ trois fois sur quatre — à se positionner du côté droit de leur mère (de sorte que leur mère soit à leur gauche). Ces observations concordent avec une étude récente chez l’humain, démontrant que les enfants approchent le plus souvent les adultes de manière à ce que ces derniers soient à leur gauche.

Les chercheurs ont aussi constaté que les bébés mammifères qui gardent leur mère à leur gauche arrivent mieux à la suivre et augmentent ainsi leurs chances de survie. Entre autres, lorsque les bébés baleines se déplacent avec leur mère à leur gauche, ils ont plus de facilité à maintenir le lien avec elle en se frottant contre son corps et risquent moins d’être accidentellement laissés derrière.

Cependant, si une menace émerge, les positions tendent à s’inverser. Bien que les bébés se positionnent plus souvent à droite de leur mère (de façon à ce que la mère soit à leur gauche) en situation normale, lors de situations de stress, par exemple en présence d’un prédateur, les mères préfèrent positionner leur bébé du côté gauche.

Pourquoi ces préférences de positionnement? Il semblerait que ce soit lié aux différents rôles des hémisphères cérébraux. L’information provenant de l’œil gauche est analysée par l’hémisphère cérébral droit qui, chez les mammifères, est aussi responsable du traitement des signaux sociaux et du développement des relations entre individus. Regarder mère ou enfant de cet œil pourrait donc favoriser les interactions et l’attachement mère-enfant et optimiser la surveillance maternelle.

Actualité - 24/1/2017

Béatrice Riché

Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM de 2016 à 2018, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.

Articles recommandés

Cinq excellentes raisons de célébrer les baleines

Le 19 février, c’est la journée internationale des baleines. Voici 5 raisons d’aimer les baleines! 1. Les baleines ont un…

|Actualité 20/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: le regard le plus aiguisé du GREMM

Afin de souligner la Journée internationale des femmes et des filles en science, l’équipe de Baleines en direct a voulu…

|Actualité 11/2/2020

GNL Québec promet de créer un fonds pour contrer la pollution sonore sous-marine

Par voie de communiqué, GNL Québec s’est engagé à mettre en place un fonds de 5 millions de dollars pour…

|Actualité 11/2/2020