Unlike humans, who can clean out the wax that covers their external ear canal (not with Q-tips of course!), whales remain stuck with their wax. This earwax accumulates and forms huge plugs resembling a cross between a goat horn and a scraggy candle. Thanks to their oily texture, these wax plugs are genuine archives that hold many secrets.

These are the secrets that are of interest to researchers! By peeling away the layers of a whale’s earwax, researchers can get a glimpse into its life. A team of American researchers led by Stephen Trumble has also managed to measure the stress of large rorquals over more than a century and a half by studying about twenty earwax plugs.

Layers of cerumen

The particularity of whale earwax is that it is deposited by succession: every six months, a layer of earwax covers the previous one. For researchers, these superimposed lamellae can be read like tree rings. Not only can they be used to determine the age of the whale, but also its health and the quality of the external environment at any time in the course of its life.

Stephen Trumble’s team analyzed each layer of wax with a particular focus on stress. “Stress is the body’s reaction when faced with a threat, be it a physical aggression or a psychological perception. In all animals, the body goes into action either to fight or to flee and, to achieve this, it produces hormones, including adrenaline and cortisol,” explains Jonathan Bluteau, an expert in human stress and professor at the Department of Education and Specialized Training at the Université du Québec à Montréal.

The level of cortisol in the body, or rather trapped in earwax, is a good indicator of stress levels in large rorquals. With this information, researchers can determine the effects of stressors that affect whales, whether it be the presence of a predator or sudden changes in the environment such as ship noise.

Disturbing humans

What the earwax plugs reveal is that there is a strong connection between human activities and stress in large rorquals. In fact, when the intensity of whaling activities was high, so were the cortisol levels. Although this association is not surprising, it is much stronger than suspected! In the 1970s, an international moratorium on whaling was instituted and almost at the same time, the cortisol levels in large rorquals decreased.

Despite the moratorium, whales are not out of the woods just yet! Although their stress levels have dropped considerably, a worrying trend is taking shape: cortisol levels have been steadily increasing over the past forty years. This increase is correlated with the warming of our oceans’ waters. Magnified by human activities, climate change seems to be indirectly affecting whales more than previously believed.

While the existence of whale earwax has been known for some time, “this is the first-ever study to quantify temporal stress patterns in baleen whales,” notes Stephen Trumble. And, many earwax plugs are yet to be analyzed to see what other secrets the wax will unveil.

News - 4/12/2018

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin

Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin writes for Whales Online since 2018, when she did an internship in scientific journalism at GREMM. Equally at ease whether engaged in scientific research or scientific outreach, she is currently completing her Master's degree in biology at the Université du Québec à Montréal and a certificate in journalism at the Université de Montréal. Jack-of-all-trades, Aurélie has a wide range of interests, from whales to dinosaurs to schools of krill!

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Baleines stressées jusque dans la cire de ses oreilles

  • Ce que révèlent les bouchons de cire des baleines, c’est qu’il existe un lien fort entre les activités humaines et le stress des grands rorquals. Sur le graphique: a) Bouchon de cérumen coupé en deux avec chaque lamelle identifiée individuellement (lignes verticales noires) b) Profil de cortisol (ng/g) en fonction de l’âge et de l’année//The earwax plug of a whale can be used to study the cortisol profile according to age and year. a) Cerumen plug cut in half with each lamella identified individually (vertical black lines) and b) Graph illustrating the reconstructed cortisol profile (ng/g) according to age and year. © Stephen Trumble. © Stephen Trumble
    04 / 12 / 2018 Par Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin

    Si les humains nettoient la cire qui recouvre leur canal auditif externe (pas avec des Q-tips, n’est-ce pas !), les baleines, elles, restent coincées avec leur cérumen. Il s’accumule et forme des bouchons énormes ressemblant à un croisement entre une corne de chèvre et une chandelle peu ragoutante. Grâce à leur texture huileuse, ces bouchons de cire emprisonnent bien des secrets et sont de véritables archives.

    Ce sont ces secrets qui intéressent les chercheurs ! En décortiquant les amas de cire d’oreille des baleines, il est possible de remonter le temps. Une équipe de chercheurs étatsuniens, menée par Stephen Trumble, a d’ailleurs réussi à mesurer le taux de stress de grands rorquals sur plus d’un siècle et demi à l’aide d’une vingtaine de bouchons de cire.

    Des étages de cérumen

    La particularité de la cire d’oreille des baleines est qu’elle se dépose par succession : tous les six mois, une couche de cérumen recouvre la précédente. Pour les chercheurs, ces lamelles superposées peuvent être lues comme les anneaux de croissance des arbres. Elles permettent de déterminer l’âge de la baleine, mais aussi de connaitre son état de santé et la qualité de son environnement à n’importe quel moment de sa vie.

    L’équipe de Stephen Trumble a analysé chaque couche de cire en focalisant sur le stress. «Ce stress, c’est une réaction du corps lorsqu’il se trouve confronté à une menace, que ce soit une agression physique ou une perception psychologique. Chez tous les animaux, le corps se met alors en action soit pour combattre ou pour fuir et, pour y arriver, il produit des hormones, dont l’adrénaline et le cortisol», explique Jonathan Bluteau, spécialiste du stress chez l’humain et professeur au département d’éducation et formation spécialisées à l’Université du Québec à Montréal.

    Le taux de cortisol dans le corps, ou plutôt coincé dans le cérumen, est donc un bon indice de l’état de stress d’un grand rorqual. Avec cette information, les chercheurs peuvent déterminer les effets des sources de stress qui touchent les baleines, que ce soit la présence d’un prédateur ou des changements soudains dans l’environnement comme le bruit d’un navire.

      • Le chercheur Sascha Usenko explique en anglais la technique utilisée pour étudier le stress chez les grands rorquals à partir de leur cérumen.

     

      © Baylor University

    Des humains dérangeants

    Ce que révèlent les bouchons de cire, c’est qu’il existe un lien fort entre les activités humaines et le stress des grands rorquals. En effet, lorsque l’intensité des activités de chasse à la baleine est élevée, le taux de cortisol l’est lui aussi. Si cette association n’est pas surprenante, elle est bien plus forte qu’on le suspectait ! Dans la décennie 1970, un moratoire international sur la chasse à la baleine est instauré et presque en même temps les niveaux de cortisol des grands rorquals chutent.

    Malgré le moratoire, les baleines ne sont toutefois pas sorties d’affaires ! Bien que leur niveau de stress ait considérablement baissé, une tendance inquiétante se profile : le niveau de cortisol augmente continuellement depuis quarante ans. Cette hausse est corrélée avec le réchauffement de l’eau des océans. Indirectement, les changements climatiques, accentués par les activités humaines, semblent toucher les baleines plus qu’on le croyait.

    Si l’existence des bouchons de cérumen des baleines est connue depuis longtemps, «ce n’est que la première étude à réussir à quantifier le stress des grands rorquals sur une longue période de temps», note Stephen Trumble. Et il reste encore bien des bouchons à analyser pour que la cire d’oreille livre tous ces secrets !

     

    En savoir plus

    (2018) Trumble, S. J., Norman S.A, Crain D.D., Mansouri F., Winfield Z.C., Sabin R., Potter C.W., Gabriele C.M. et S. Usenko, Baleen whale cortisol levels reveal a physiological response to 20th century whaling, Nature Communications, 9: 4587


    Aurélie Lagueux-Beloin est rédactrice pour Baleines en direct depuis l’été 2018. Aimant autant faire de la science qu’en parler, elle complète sa maitrise en biologie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal ainsi qu’un certificat en journalisme à l’Université de Montréal. Sur les ondes de CISM 89,3 FM, elle coanime l’émission de vulgarisation scientifique Le Lab. Aurélie est touche-à-tout et s’intéresse autant aux baleines qu’aux dinosaures en passant par les bancs de krill!