Since 1994, sampling has been conducted on nearly 3,000 excursionsin the heart of the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park by the Parks Canadateam and its partners, namely the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM), which spearheaded this monitoring at the request of Parks Canada, and the Marine Mammal Observation Network (MMON), which carries out monitoring in the waters adjacent to the Marine Park.

Research assistants aboard whale-watching boats have three minutes to note the activity of the boat they are on as well as the presence of any watercraft or marine mammals within a two-kilometre radius. This protocol is repeated every ten minutes for the duration of the trip. These monitoring sessions are known as “MOA,” or “marine observation activities.”

Over time, collected data have made it possible to gain a better overall understanding of whale-watching activities at sea, map the animals’ habitat use and monitor their distribution patterns within the Marine Park. This information is essential to regulate this tourism activity and ensure that it is managed in accordance with the Marine Park’s conservation mission.

Laurie and Jade-Audrey, two research assistants with Parks Canada, share a few memorable moments they experienced on their trips out to sea.

Minke whale “on fire”

My position within the Parks Canada team requires me to conduct MOA monitoring. This type of work means that no two days are alike!  It also gives me the chance to observe how marine mammals behave in their natural environment.
On the afternoon of June 27, as we depart from the Baie-Sainte-Catherine marina, I expect a rather calm afternoon with few sightings due to the dense fog limiting visibility around the boat. However, after just 10 minutes on the water, I hear a couple of big splashes off the stern of the boat. I rush in that direction and, much to my surprise, spot a minke whale energetically hurling itself out of the water. The animal breached several times! It was “surfing” in the wake of the boat, much like a dolphin might do. This incredible observation is testimony to the agility, dynamism and perhaps even the notion of play in this species. The animal followed us for a few more minutes before swimming away, leaving me and the other naturalist absolutely spellbound.

Laurie St-Jean Jutras, student

Resource Conservation

Laurie St-Jean Jutras joined the Parks Canada team earlier this year. She is completing a bachelor’s degree in biological sciences at Université de Montreal and hopes to continue her graduate studies to pursue a scientific career studying marine mammals.  When Laurie is not on board a boat or walking along the shoreline, she has her nose in her books, striving to learn all she can about whale

Intimate moments between a mother and her newborn

June 28, 2022, 14h55

Here I am at sea, on board a Zodiac between Tadoussac and Les Bergeronnes. I’m in the process of recording my data when, off in the distance, we spot a blast that resembles that of a humpback. It is rounder than it is straight. Oh, there’s another one, only this one is much smaller. Could it be a mother accompanied by her newborn? How exciting! The female Tic Tac Toe was recently observed with a calf!

We slowly draw closer. We see the animal lift its tail, and yes, it is indeed Tic Tac Toe! Some humpback whales can be recognized by the unique colour patterns they show on the undersides of their tails. This Marine Park “regular” is accompanied by her newborn and her one-year-old calf.

After several minutes of observation, the mother remains on the surface and appears to be less active. Her newborn comes to the surface at intervals of about 10 to 15 seconds and dives again after each breath. The one-year-old remains nearby and within the same observation site. After several minutes of observing the mother and the newborn, I begin to wonder… could she be nursing? Perhaps, given that nursing in this species lasts between 5 and 10 months. I’m between two observation sessions, so I hurry to film everything to try to document what I’m seeing before my eyes.

Back on land, I reflect back on these exceptional moments that I witnessed and say to myself: “Until next time, dear matriarch of the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park!”

Jade-Audrey Lavergne, student

Resource Conservation

Jade-Audrey joined Parks Canada in 2021, where she was part of the Visitor Experience team. This year she is back again, but has switched to the Resource Conservation team. Jade-Audrey boasts a broad educational background, having completed studies in visual arts, psychology and biology. This whale enthusiast has been pursuing a graduate degree in integrated coastal zone management at TÉLUQ since 2022. Her research project is focused on marine mammals in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and will use hydroacoustics to learn more about how they communicate.

Field Notes - 11/8/2022

Collaboration Spéciale

Recommended articles

The Belugas of Cacouna

“Hey look! Over there! A beluga!” Posted on our observation platform on the sacred mountain of Gros-Cacouna, Sami and I…

|Field Notes 20/9/2022

Invasive Aquatic Species Project

The week of July 11 to 15 marked the second year of sampling for our project in collaboration with Fisheries…

|Field Notes 18/8/2022

Depuis 1994, des échantillons ont été pris sur près de 3000 excursions en plein cœur du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent par l’équipe de Parcs Canada et ses collaborateurs : le Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM), qui a mis en place ce suivi à la demande de Parcs Canada, et le Réseau d’observation de mammifères marins (ROMM), qui applique le suivi dans l’entourage du parc marin.

À bord des bateaux d’excursion, les assistants de recherche ont trois minutes pour noter l’activité du bateau où ils se trouvent ainsi que la présence d’embarcations et de mammifères marins dans un rayon de deux kilomètres. Ce protocole est répété toutes les dix minutes tout au long de la sortie. On surnomme ces suivis les « AOM », les activités d’observation en mer.

Ces données recueillies ont permis de dresser un portrait global des activités d’observation en mer des mammifères marins au fil du temps, de cartographier l’utilisation du territoire et de faire un suivi sur la fréquentation des rorquals dans le parc marin. Ces informations sont essentielles pour encadrer cette activité touristique et en assurer une gestion qui répond à la mission de conservation du parc marin.

Laurie et Jade-Audrey, deux assistantes de recherche à Parcs Canada, partagent des moments mémorables qu’elles ont vécus lors de leurs sorties en mer.

Petit rorqual « en feu »

Mon poste au sein de l’équipe de Parcs Canada me demande d’effectuer le suivi des AOM. Ce travail me permet de vivre des journées complètement différentes les unes des autres!  J’ai ainsi la chance d’observer les divers comportements des mammifères marins dans leur environnement naturel.

Le 27 juin en après-midi, au départ du quai de Baie-Sainte-Catherine, je m’attendais à un après-midi plutôt calme avec peu d’observations en raison d’un brouillard dense limitant ma visibilité autour du navire. Toutefois, après seulement 10 minutes sur l’eau, j’entends de grosses éclaboussures produites vers l’arrière du bateau. Je me précipite alors dans cette direction et, à ma grande surprise, j’aperçois un petit rorqual jaillir énergiquement hors de l’eau. Ce dernier exécute ces sauts à plusieurs reprises! Il est en train de « surfer » dans les vagues produites par le bateau, un peu comme le ferait un dauphin. Il s’agit d’une incroyable observation qui démontre bien l’agilité, le dynamisme et peut-être la notion de jeu chez cette espèce. Il nous suit encore quelques minutes avant de nous laisser, la naturaliste et moi, complètement émerveillées.

Laurie St-Jean Jutras, étudiante

Conservation des ressources

Laurie St-Jean Jutras s’est jointe à l’équipe de Parcs Canada cette année. Elle effectue un baccalauréat en sciences biologiques à l’Université de Montréal et souhaite continuer son cheminement aux cycles supérieurs afin de poursuivre une carrière scientifique dans l’étude des mammifères marins.  Lorsque Laurie n’est pas à bord des bateaux ou sur le long des rives, elle a le nez dans les livres pour continuer d’en apprendre toujours plus sur les baleines!

Moments intimes entre une mère et son nouveau-né

Me voici en mer, entre Tadoussac et Les Bergeronnes, à bord d’un zodiac. Je prends note de mes données quand, au loin, nous voyons un souffle qui ressemble à celui d’un rorqual à bosse. Il est plus rond que droit. Oh… en voilà un deuxième, cette fois-ci beaucoup plus petit. Serait-ce une mère accompagnée de son nouveau-né? Je suis fébrile! La femelle Tic Tac Toe a été observée récemment avec un jeune!

On s’approche lentement. Voilà la queue de l’animal qui s’élève et oui, il s’agit bien de Tic Tac Toe! On peut reconnaitre certains rorquals à bosse par la coloration unique qu’ils ont sur le dessous de leur queue. Cette « habituée » du parc marin est accompagnée par son nouveau-né et son jeune âgé d’un an.

Après plusieurs minutes d’observation, la mère reste en surface et semble moins active. Son nouveau-né remonte à la surface à intervalles espacés d’environ 10 à 15 secondes et plonge à chaque respiration. Le jeune d’un an reste à proximité dans le même site d’observation. Après plusieurs minutes à observer la mère et le nouveau-né, je me questionne… serait-ce de l’allaitement? Possible, étant donné que l’allaitement dure de 5 à 10 mois. Me voilà entre deux blocs d’observation, alors je m’empresse de filmer le tout pour tenter de valider ce que j’ai sous les yeux.

De retour sur terre, je repense à ces moments exceptionnels dont j’ai été témoin et je me dis : « à la revoyure, chère matriarche du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent! »

Jade-Audrey Lavergne, étudiante

Conservation des ressources

Jade-Audrey a rejoint l’équipe de Parcs Canada en 2021, plus précisément dans l’équipe de l’expérience du visiteur. Cette année, elle est de retour et a rejoint l’équipe de la conservation des ressources. Jade-Audrey a un parcours scolaire très vaste : des études en arts plastiques, en psychologie et en biologie. Cette passionnée des baleines poursuit un diplôme d’études supérieures en gestion intégrée des zones côtières à la TÉLUQ depuis 2022. Son projet de recherche est tourné vers les mammifères marins du golfe du Saint-Laurent et utilisera l’hydroacoustique pour en découvrir plus sur leurs communications.

Carnet de terrain - 11/8/2022

Collaboration Spéciale

Articles recommandés

À la rencontre des bélugas de Cacouna

«Hey regarde! Là! Un béluga!» Perché.e.s sur notre plateforme d’observation sur la montagne sacrée de Gros-Cacouna, Sami et moi rivons…

|Carnet de terrain 20/9/2022

Projet sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes

C’est dans la semaine du 11 au 15 juillet que se déroulait la deuxième année d’échantillonnage du projet de Parcs…

|Carnet de terrain 18/8/2022