Last week, the European Commission unveiled its strategy for reducing the amount of plastic waste landfilled and discharged into the sea. Its goal is for all packaging to be reusable or recyclable by 2030. The Commission announced a $350 million investment in research to raise awareness in Europe and modernize the production and collection of plastics. This  strategy will result in a new legislative proposal by the end of the year, promises Frans Timmermans, First Vice President of the EU Commission. This is good news for marine mammals, whose habitat is increasingly invaded by this waste. What about Canada? What are our governments doing about plastic waste and what can we do as citizens to reduce the amount of plastic that ends up in the ocean?

Brief history of plastic

Plastic production boomed after the Second World War. Plastics are all around us: in packaging (such as plastic bottles), consumer goods, building materials, cars and clothing (yes, polyester is plastic). About 35% of the plastic manufactured is for packaging purposes – this is called single-use plastic, which takes just a few seconds to produce, is used for a few minutes, and takes between 100 and 1,000 years to decompose. Over 9.1 billion tonnes of plastic have been produced since 1950. In a study published last July, researchers calculated that, of these 9.1 billion tonnes produced, nearly 7 billion tonnes are no longer used. Only 9% was recycled and 12% was incinerated, leaving 5.5 billion tonnes of plastic waste on land and in our waters.

More plastic than fish in the ocean

Up to 12 million tonnes of plastic wind up in the ocean every year and this quantity could increase by 2025 if nothing is done to improve our waste management practices, say researchers in a study published in 2015 in the journal Science. Approximately 51 trillion plastic microparticles have also made their way to the ocean.  If the trend continues, by 2050, there will be more plastic than fish in the ocean (in mass units), estimates the World Economic Forum in a report published in 2016. The consequences for marine life are many and are far-reaching. A recent UN campaign (#CleanSeas) reminds us of some worrying facts: plastic waste is harmful to over 600 marine species (including several species of whales) and 15% of marine species that ingest or get entangled in plastic waste are vulnerable. On December 8, 2017, nearly 200 countries signed a UN resolution to end plastic waste in oceans. Although this resolution is not legally binding, it constitutes an important first step.

Canada and its municipalities hard at work

Since January 1, it is prohibited to manufacture or import into Canada toiletries containing plastic microbeads and the sale of such products will be prohibited beginning July 1.

Several Quebec municipalities have banned single-use plastic bags. Notably, since January 1, retailers in the City of Montréal are no longer allowed to offer consumers lightweight (less than 50 microns thick) or biodegradable (regardless of their thickness) plastic bags.

“If you tell your children that it takes five seconds to produce a plastic straw, how long will they use it? Five minutes, maybe ten? But if you explain to them that it takes 500 years to decompose once it’s thrown away, they will no longer want to use it.” – Frans Timmermans, First Vice President of the EU Commission

But what about disposable plastic dishes, cutlery and bottles (still widely used) and plastic packaging for food and consumer goods (not always recyclable), not to mention synthetic fabrics, which release more than 1900 microplastic fibres every time they’re washed?

What can the average citizen do?

People can change their habits. “If you tell your children that it takes five seconds to produce a plastic straw, how long will they use it? Five minutes, maybe ten? But if you explain to them that it takes 500 years to decompose once it’s thrown away, they will no longer want to use it,” argued Frans Timmermans at a press conference in Strasbourg last week.

Set an example. Use reusable containers for your lunch, coffee, and drinking water. Bring reusable bags with you when you’re out shopping. Refuse non-recyclable packaging and contact your municipality to learn more about good recycling practices.

For more examples of little things we can do to substantially reduce the amount of plastic we send to the ocean:

16 simple ways to reduce plastic waste (Mother Nature Network)
Tips to Reduce Plastics (Zero Waste Canada)

News - 26/1/2018

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Pour arrêter le flux de matières plastiques vers l’océan

  • Le plastique à usage unique, qui prend quelques secondes à produire, est utilisé quelques minutes, puis prend entre 100 et 1000 ans pour se décomposer. © Pixnio
    26 / 01 / 2018 Par Béatrice Riché - / /

    La Commission européenne a dévoilé la semaine dernière sa stratégie pour réduire la quantité de déchets de plastique mis en décharge et rejetés à la mer. Son objectif : que tout emballage soit réutilisable ou recyclable d’ici 2030. Elle annonce un investissement de 350 millions d’euros dans la recherche visant à changer les mentalités en Europe et à moderniser la production et la collecte de plastique. Cette stratégie se traduira par une nouvelle proposition législative d’ici la fin de l’année, promet Frans Timmermans, premier vice-président de l’exécutif européen. C’est une bonne nouvelle pour les mammifères marins, dont l’habitat est de plus en plus envahi par ces déchets. Du côté du Canada, que font les gouvernements à ce sujet et que pouvons-nous faire comme citoyens pour diminuer la quantité de plastique qui aboutit dans l’océan ?

    La petite histoire du plastique

    La production de plastique a connu un véritable essor après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. On retrouve du plastique pratiquement partout : dans les emballages (comme les bouteilles en plastique), les biens de consommation, les matériaux de construction, les voitures et les vêtements (eh oui ! le polyester, c’est du plastique). Environ 35 % du plastique fabriqué est destiné aux emballages — c’est ce qu’on appelle du plastique à usage unique, qui prend quelques secondes à produire, est utilisé quelques minutes, puis prend entre 100 et 1000 ans pour se décomposer. Plus de 9,1 milliards de tonnes de plastique ont été produites depuis 1950. Des chercheurs ont calculé, dans une étude publiée en juillet dernier, que, sur ces 9,1 milliards de tonnes produites, près de 7 milliards de tonnes ne sont plus utilisés. Seulement 9 % ont été recyclés et 12 % ont été incinérés, laissant 5,5 milliards de tonnes de déchets de plastique sur la terre et dans l’eau.

    Plus de plastique que de poissons dans l’océan 

    Jusqu’à 12 millions de tonnes de plastique aboutissent dans l’océan chaque année et cette quantité pourrait augmenter d’ici 2025 si rien n’est fait pour améliorer nos pratiques de gestion des déchets, estiment des chercheurs dans une étude publiée en 2015 dans la revue Science. Environ 51 billions de microparticules de plastique ont également fait leur chemin jusqu’à l’océan.  Si la tendance se maintient, il y aura plus de plastique que de poissons (en unité de masse) dans l’océan d’ici 2050, estime le Forum économique mondial (en anglais : World Economic Forum), dans un rapport publié en 2016. Les conséquences sur la vie marine sont multiples et de grande portée. Une récente campagne de l’ONU (#OcéansPropres) nous rappelle des faits inquiétants : les déchets en plastique nuisent à plus de 600 espèces marines (dont plusieurs espèces de baleines) et 15% des espèces marines qui ingèrent ou s’empêtrent dans les déchets de plastique sont en péril. Le 8 décembre dernier, près de 200 pays ont signé une résolution des Nations unies pour mettre fin à la pollution des océans par le plastique. Bien que cette résolution ne soit pas juridiquement contraignante, elle est un important premier pas.

    Si la tendance se maintient, il y aura plus de plastique que de poissons (en unité de masse) dans l’océan d’ici 2050.

    Le Canada et ses municipalités s’activent

    Depuis le 1er janvier, il est interdit de fabriquer ou d’importer au Canada des produits de toilette contenant des microbilles de plastique et la vente de ces produits sera interdite à compter du 1er juillet.

    Plusieurs municipalités québécoises ont banni les sacs de plastique à usage unique. Notamment, depuis le 1er janvier, les commerçants de la Ville de Montréal n’ont plus le droit d’offrir aux consommateurs des sacs de plastique légers (ayant une épaisseur inférieure à 50 microns), ainsi que des sacs biodégradables, quelle que soit leur épaisseur.

    Mais qu’en est-il de la vaisselle, des couverts et des bouteilles jetables en plastique, encore largement utilisés, et des emballages en plastique pas toujours recyclables qui recouvrent aliments et biens de consommation, ainsi que des tissus synthétiques, qui libèrent plus de 1900 fibres de microplastique à chaque lavage?

    Que peut faire le citoyen ?

    Les habitudes des gens peuvent changer. « Si vous expliquez à vos enfants qu’il faut cinq secondes pour produire une paille en plastique, pendant combien de temps vont-ils l’utiliser? Cinq, dix minutes? Mais si vous leur expliquez qu’il lui faut 500 ans pour se désintégrer une fois jetée, alors ils ne voudront plus l’utiliser », a assuré Frans Timmermans lors d’une conférence de presse à Strasbourg la semaine dernière.

    Donnez l’exemple. Utilisez des contenants réutilisables pour vos lunchs, votre café, votre eau. Apportez vos sacs réutilisables lorsque vous faites vos emplettes. Refusez les emballages non recyclables et informez-vous des bonnes pratiques de recyclage auprès de votre municipalité.

    Pour plus d’exemples de petits gestes qui réduiront substantiellement la quantité de plastique que nous envoyons dans l’océan : 16 astuces simples pour réduire ses déchets en plastique.

     

    Sources

    EU declares war on plastic waste (The Guardian, 16/01/2018)
    Geyer, R., Jambeck, J.R. et Law, K.L. 2017. Production, use, and fate of all plastics ever made. Science Advances, doi: 10.1126/sciadv.1700782

    Jambeck, J.R., Geyer, R., Wilcox, C., Siegler, T.R., Perryman, M., Andrady, A., Narayan, R. et Law, K.L. 2015. Plastic waste inputs from land into the ocean. Science, doi: 10.1126/science.1260352

    More Plastic than Fish in the Ocean by 2050: Report Offers Blueprint for Change (World Economic Forum, 19/01/2016)

    Feature: UN’s mission to keep plastics out of oceans and marine life (United Nations News Center, 27/04/2017)

    Nearly 200 nations promise to stop ocean plastic waste (Reuters, 06/12/2017)

    Plastiques : l’Union européenne veut mieux les recycler (Futura Planète, 18/01/2018)

    Microbilles (Gouvernement du Canada)

    Bannissement des sacs de plastique (Ville de Montréal)

     

    Pour en savoir plus

    Sur Baleines en direct
    Pourquoi trouve-t-on parfois du plastique dans l’estomac des baleines?


    Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis 2016, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.