According to data provided by the Mingan Island Cetacean Study, the humpback whale H626 (MICS catalogue number) – known as Boom Boom River (BBR) in the Mingan and Gaspé sectors and Gaspar in the Estuary – is the daughter of H166 (Helmet) and was born in 2005. And there you have it for her genealogy.

For 10 years now, I’ve been observing this humpback every year. My first encounter was on July 5, 2008. At the time, she was still a 3-year-old juvenile, slapping her tail, between Île Plate and Pointe-Saint-Pierre in the Percé sector. On July 14, I observed this same animal for the tenth consecutive year. It was the first time I had the opportunity to watch her in the Lower Estuary.

At this time of the season, I usually frequent the tip of the Gaspé, but this year I stayed more in the Estuary. Having left from Rimouski, I wanted to cover the northern sector, between Pointe-à-Boisvert and Pointe-à-Michel. Under excellent weather conditions, I reached Betsiamites fairly quickly, encountering a few belugas and several harbour porpoises. Off the tip, I quickly spotted a few spouts in a rather concentrated area. I therefore quickly filed through these animals, photo-identifying four fin whales and the famous BBR/Gaspar.

To photo-ID fin whales, you must stay parallel to them on their right side in order to photograph their chevron (just behind the head), which is unique to each individual. When you’re in the presence of a humpback and you want to take a photo for identification purposes, you follow it slowly from behind, waiting for the moment it raises its caudal fin to take a dive, since it is this undertail pattern that is unique to each humpback.

I was obviously very excited when she showed me her sub-caudal, which I immediately recognized. It is always very moving to find and recognize a well known animal in the field. We feel as if we have developed a relationship, though who are we kidding, this recognition is certainly one-sided!

In closing, I present to you 10 photos of H626 BBR (Gaspar) that I have captured every year from 2008 to 2017.

H626, photographed in July 2008, in front of island Plate. © René Roy
H626 in July 2009, around Forillon © René Roy
H626, in June 2010, close to Cap d'Espoir © René Roy
H626, in July 2011, close to Cap Gaspé © René Roy
H626, shot in June 2012, close to Percé © René Roy
H626 in May 2013, close to Cap Gaspé © René Roy
H626, on July 1, 2015, in front of ile Plate © René Roy
H626 in May 2016, in the bay of Gaspé © René Roy
H626, on July 14, 2017, in front of Betsiamites © René Roy
Field Notes - 17/7/2017

René Roy

René Roy is an amateur cetologist who is passionate about the sea and whales; he resides in Pointe-au-Père, in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region. For the past few years, he has undertaken photo-identification expeditions for the Mingan Island Cetacean Study (MICS), mainly in the Gaspé, with a research permit. He also volunteers for the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network. More pictures can be seen on Facebook.

Recommended articles

Catch Me If You Can: A Week at the Saddle Island Haulout

6:30 a.m.: The alarm goes off, sounding the start of a new day in the field. I’m not in Tadoussac,…

|Field Notes 13/2/2020

Skeleton Preparations Move Forward

At the time of his most recent interview with a Whales Online intern in the fall of 2018, Michel Martin,…

|Field Notes 3/2/2020

Is ice a significant natural threat to blue whales in the Gulf?

Revisiting the photos I took this past summer, I pondered some of the specific markings I had observed on blue…

|Field Notes 2/12/2019

Ma plus fidèle baleine à bosse… par René Roy

  • H626, aussi connue comme Gaspar, photographiée en plein saut, dans la baie de Gaspé. © René Roy
    17 / 07 / 2017 Par René Roy

    Le rorqual à bosse H626 (réf. catalogue MICS) nommée Boom Boom River (BBR) dans les secteurs Mingan et Gaspé, aussi nommée Gaspar dans l’estuaire, est, selon les données fournies par la Station de recherche des iles Mingan, la fille de H166 Helmet et serait née en 2005. Voilà pour la généalogie.

    Depuis maintenant 10 ans, j’observe ce rorqual à bosse chaque année. Ma première rencontre remonte au 5 juillet 2008. À ce moment, elle était encore une baleine juvénile de 3 ans. Elle faisait du «tail slapping» entre l’ile Plate et la Pointe-St-Pierre, dans le secteur Percé. Le 14 juillet dernier, j’observais ce même animal pour la dixième année consécutive. C’était par contre la première fois que j’avais l’occasion de la rencontrer dans l’estuaire maritime.

    En cette période de la saison, je parcours généralement la pointe gaspésienne, mais cette année, je suis resté davantage dans l’estuaire. Étant sorti à partir de Rimouski, je voulais couvrir le secteur nord, entre la Pointe-à-Boisvert et la Pointe-à-Michel. Par d’excellentes conditions météo, j’ai atteint le large de Betsiamites assez rapidement, rencontrant au passage quelques bélugas et plusieurs marsouins communs. Au large de la pointe, j’ai très vite repéré quelques souffles assez concentrés dans ce secteur. J’ai donc rapidement fait le tour de ces animaux présents pour y photo-identifier quatre rorquals communs et la fameuse BBR/Gaspar.

    Pour photo-identifier les rorquals communs, il faut se maintenir parallèlement à eux sur leur côté droit pour pouvoir photographier leur chevron (partie avant derrière la tête) qui est unique pour chaque individu. Lorsqu’on est en présence d’une baleine à bosse et qu’on veut prendre une photo pour fin d’identification, on se tient derrière elle en la suivant lentement en attendant le moment où elle soulève sa nageoire caudale pour faire une plongée, puisque c’est le patron de cette sous-caudale qui est unique pour chacune des baleines à bosse.

    J’étais évidemment très excité lorsqu’elle m’a présenté sa sous-caudale que j’ai immédiatement reconnue. C’est toujours très émouvant de revoir et de reconnaitre un animal qu’on connait bien sur le terrain. On a l’impression d’avoir développé une relation, même si, ne nous faisons pas d’illusion, cette reconnaissance est très certainement à sens unique.

    Je vous présente donc 10 photos de H626 BBR (Gaspar) que j’ai captées à chacune de ces années depuis 2008 jusqu’à 2017.


    René Roy est un cétologue amateur, passionné de la mer et des baleines, résidant à Pointe-au-Père, dans le Bas-Saint-Laurent. Depuis plusieurs années, il entreprend des expéditions de photo-identification pour le compte de la Station de recherche des îles Mingan (MICS), principalement en Gaspésie. Il est également bénévole pour le Réseau québécois d’urgences pour les mammifères marins.