The stranding of 29 sperm whales in the North Sea in early 2016 may have been caused by solar storms occurring some 150 million kilometres from Earth, according to a study published last August in the International Journal of Astrobiology.

Sperm whales live in the deep waters of all the world’s oceans. Groups of females and juveniles stay in the temperate waters of lower latitudes. By the age of 10-15, young bulls leave their family units and form “bachelor groups”, which migrate to higher latitudes where they undertake seasonal movements.

The North Sea is sometimes called the “sperm whale trap” because of the relatively frequent strandings of this species. A number of strandings have been documented in this sea since the Middle Ages. The last mass stranding occurred between January 8 and February 4, 2016, when 29 male sperm whales, mostly young adults, were found beached along the coasts of Germany, the Netherlands, Great Britain and France. The 22 necropsies performed revealed good nutritional status and no known disease.

Several theories have been proposed to explain the causes and mechanisms leading to the disorientation and mass strandings of sperm whales and other toothed whales. Could solar storms occasionally play a role in these strandings? Researchers from the University of Kiel, the German Aerospace Centre and the University of Tromsø have attempted to answer this question. They analyzed the potential effects of solar storms recorded between December 20, 2015 and January 1, 2016 on the Earth’s magnetic field and sperm whale navigation in the Northeast Atlantic.

During solar storms, a particularly large quantity of charged particles and radiation are emitted by the sun. Particle speeds can reach 1,000 kilometres per second. These high-energy particles can strike and deform the Earth’s magnetic field when they are released in its direction. In animals that use the magnetic field as a navigational tool – such as bees, migratory birds and probably sperm whales – this can lead to navigation errors and disorientation.

On the high seas, navigational errors caused by solar storms are probably for the most part temporary and without serious consequences. However, if these magnetic disturbances occur while sperm whales are moving near the Shetland Islands in the Norwegian Sea, a deviation of a few kilometres can pull the animals into the shallow waters of the North Sea, where they can run aground.

Looking specifically at the region surrounding the Shetland Islands, researchers have demonstrated that solar storms can cause short-term changes in geomagnetic latitude corresponding to movements of up to 460 km in the area between the islands and Norway. This phenomenon may have been responsible for the sperm whales swimming in the wrong direction.

A magnetic anomaly is permanently present off the Norwegian coast. According to researchers, this anomaly is probably perceived by sperm whales as a “geomagnetic mountain range”, a sort of guardrail that prevents them from penetrating the North Sea. Solar storms might negate this effect, making the mountain range invisible and allowing whales to enter these waters.

According to the authors of the study, young sperm whales – who have spent the first years of their lives at low latitudes where the magnetic disturbances caused by solar storms are weak – might be particularly vulnerable to this phenomenon, not having acquired the necessary experience to quickly detect these disturbances and adopt an alternative navigation system.

This study demonstrates that a phenomenon originating millions of kilometres away may have played an important role in the stranding of sperm whales in the North Sea. However, it is likely that many strandings are the result of multiple factors occurring simultaneously – for example, an environment’s geographic and oceanographic characteristics combined with the presence of specific winds or magnetic disturbances.

News - 15/11/2017

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Les tempêtes solaires auraient-elles causé un échouage massif?

  • Des chercheurs ont analysé les effets potentiels des tempêtes solaires sur le champ magnétique terrestre et la navigation des cachalots dans l’Atlantique Nord-Est. © GREMM
    15 / 11 / 2017 Par Béatrice Riché - / /

    L’échouage de 29 cachalots dans la mer du Nord au début de l’année 2016 pourrait avoir été causé par des tempêtes solaires, ayant lieu à environ 150 millions de kilomètres de la Terre, avance une étude publiée en aout dernier dans la revue International Journal of Astrobiology.

    Les cachalots vivent dans les eaux profondes de tous les océans. Les groupes de femelles et de jeunes se tiennent dans les eaux chaudes des basses latitudes. Vers l’âge de 10-15 ans, les jeunes mâles quittent l’unité familiale et forment des « groupes de célibataires », qui migrent vers de plus hautes latitudes, où ils entreprennent des mouvements saisonniers.

    La mer du Nord est parfois surnommée « le piège à cachalots », en raison des échouages relativement fréquents de cette espèce. © Google Maps

    La mer du Nord est parfois surnommée « le piège à cachalots », en raison des échouages relativement fréquents de cette espèce. Plusieurs échouages ont été documentés dans cette mer depuis le Moyen Âge. Le dernier échouage massif s’est produit entre le 8 janvier et le 4 février 2016, lorsque 29 cachalots mâles, principalement de jeunes adultes, ont été trouvés échoués le long des côtes de l’Allemagne, des Pays-Bas, de la Grande-Bretagne et de la France. Les 22 nécropsies pratiquées ont révélé un bon état nutritionnel et l’absence de maladie connue.

    Plusieurs théories ont été avancées pour expliquer les causes et les mécanismes menant à la désorientation et aux échouages massifs de cachalots et autres baleines à dents. Se pourrait-il que les tempêtes solaires jouent parfois un rôle dans ces échouages? Des chercheurs de l’université de Kiel, du Centre allemand pour l’aéronautique et l’astronautique et de l’université de Tromsø ont tenté de répondre à cette question. Ils ont analysé les effets potentiels des tempêtes solaires enregistrées entre le 20 décembre 2015 et le 1er janvier 2016 sur le champ magnétique terrestre et la navigation des cachalots dans l’Atlantique Nord-Est.

    Lors de tempêtes solaires, une quantité particulièrement élevée de particules chargées et de radiations sont éjectées par le soleil. La vitesse des particules peut atteindre 1000 kilomètres par seconde. Ces particules de haute énergie peuvent frapper et déformer le champ magnétique terrestre lorsqu’elles sont libérées dans sa direction. Chez les animaux qui utilisent le champ magnétique comme outil de navigation — comme les abeilles, les oiseaux migrateurs et probablement les cachalots — ce phénomène peut mener à des erreurs de navigation et à une désorientation.

    En haute mer, les erreurs de navigation provoquées par les tempêtes solaires seraient, la plupart du temps, temporaires et sans conséquence grave. Cependant, si ces perturbations magnétiques surviennent alors que les cachalots se déplacent près des iles Shetland dans la mer de Norvège, une déviation de quelques kilomètres peut entrainer les animaux dans les eaux peu profondes de la mer du Nord, où ils risquent de s’échouer.

    En regardant spécifiquement la région autour des iles Shetland, les chercheurs ont démontré que les tempêtes solaires peuvent entrainer des modifications à court terme de la latitude géomagnétique correspondant à des déplacements allant jusqu’à 460 km, dans la zone entre les iles et la Norvège. Ce phénomène aurait donc pu entrainer les cachalots dans la mauvaise direction.

    Le phénomène de tempêtes solaires aurait donc pu entrainer les cachalots dans la mauvaise direction. © GREMM

    Une anomalie magnétique est présente de façon permanente au large de la côte norvégienne. Selon les chercheurs, cette anomalie est probablement vue par les cachalots comme une « chaine de montagnes géomagnétique », une sorte de garde-corps qui les empêche d’entrer dans la mer du Nord. Les tempêtes solaires ont pu annuler cet effet, rendant la chaine de montagnes invisible et permettant aux baleines d’y entrer.

    Selon les auteurs de l’étude, les jeunes cachalots mâles — qui ont passé leurs premières années de vie en basses latitudes, où les perturbations magnétiques provoquées par les tempêtes solaires sont faibles — pourraient être particulièrement vulnérables face à ce phénomène, n’ayant pas encore acquis l’expérience nécessaire pour détecter rapidement ces perturbations et adopter un système de navigation alternatif.

    Cette étude démontre qu’un phénomène prenant naissance à plusieurs millions de kilomètres de la Terre a possiblement joué un rôle important dans l’échouage de cachalots dans la mer du Nord. Il est cependant probable que de nombreux échouages soient le résultat de plusieurs facteurs ayant agi conjointement — par exemple les particularités géographiques et océanographiques d’un milieu, liées à la présence de vents particuliers ou de perturbations magnétiques.

     

    Source:

    Vanselow, K.H., Jacobsen, S., Hall, C. and Garthe, S. 2017. Solar storms may trigger sperm whale strandings: explanation approaches for multiple strandings in the North Sea in 2016. International Journal of Astrobiology, doi: 10.1017/S147355041700026X


    Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis 2016, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.