Is there a correlation between brain size and the diversity of social behaviours exhibited by a species? In cetaceans, it seems that there is, reveals a study published this month in the journal Nature Ecology and Evolution.

By comparing the size of the brain, the diversity of social and cultural behaviours, and the size of the social group in various cetacean species, researchers found that species with larger brains tend to have a broader repertoire of social behaviours, live in medium-sized groups of 5 to 20 individuals, and be united by strong social bonds. The smallest brains were found in solitary species or those that live in small groups.

In humans, the brain is believed to have grown larger (a process known as encephalization) as our social skills (e.g. language, pursuit of common goals, teaching, consensus-based decision-making and empathy) developed. These skills favour cooperative social interactions and have allowed humans to colonize the majority of terrestrial ecosystems.

Cetaceans also have proportionally large and anatomically sophisticated brains. Could it be that even though they have evolved in very different environments, cetaceans and humans have developed a similar survival strategy, that is, a large brain that allows for a wide variety of complex social interactions? Even if, anatomically speaking, humans and cetaceans have very different brains? Indeed, the frontal lobe, the part of the human brain that is involved in planning, language and most complex thoughts, is absent in cetaceans. On the other hand, cetaceans possess large, well-developed brain regions that are not present in humans.

To answer these questions, a group of researchers from Stanford University, the London School of Economics, Harvard University and the University of Manchester have identified the social behaviours observed in 90 species of cetaceans, i.e. whales, rorquals, dolphins and porpoises. These behaviours include, for example, the presence of alliances within the group, care for young by individuals other than parents (alloparental care), inter-species cooperation, group hunting, social play, social learning and complex vocalizations.

The results show that brain structures that are quite different – in humans and cetaceans, for instance – can give rise to similar social skills. A little like the wings of birds and the “wings” of bats (which perform the same function, i.e. flight) are anatomically very different and the result of independent evolutions, separated in time by several millions of years.

But what came first, a bigger brain, or more complex social relationships? According to Kieran Fox, a postdoctoral student at Stanford University and co-author of the study, the two probably developed in parallel. The development of new complex social behaviours may require a larger and more powerful brain. And the development of a more powerful brain facilitates the learning of new social behaviours and new skills. This is what researchers call a positive feedback loop.

“Let’s say a random increase in brain size or complexity gives you a greater capacity for social co-operation. If these new social skills pay off, then natural selection will keep favouring expansion of this same brain area. The capacity for social skills and cooperation will expand in turn, and the cycle will repeat,” explains Fox in an interview with CBC News. “What you’ll eventually expect to see is that species that have large, complex brains will also tend to possess a wider repertoire of social behaviours – and this is exactly what we found among the whales and dolphins.”

However, as in the case of primates, diversity of social behaviours is not the only trait associated with the size of the cetacean brain. Researchers also found that cetaceans with larger brains tend to have a more varied diet and larger ranges.

News - 24/10/2017

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Gros cerveau, grande sociabilité?

  • Les cétacés grégaires jouent plus souvent que les solitaires, qui exécutent tout de même des sauts hors de l’eau. © GREMM
    24 / 10 / 2017 Par Béatrice Riché

    Y a-t-il un lien entre la grosseur du cerveau et la diversité des comportements sociaux présents chez une espèce? Chez les cétacés, il semblerait que oui, dévoile une étude publiée ce mois-ci dans la revue Nature Ecology and Evolution.

    En comparant la grosseur du cerveau, la diversité des comportements sociaux et culturels et la taille du groupe social chez différentes espèces de cétacés, les chercheurs ont découvert que les espèces qui ont des cerveaux plus volumineux ont tendance à posséder un plus vaste répertoire de comportements sociaux et à vivre au sein de groupes de taille moyenne, composés de 5 à 20 individus, unis par des liens sociaux forts. Les plus petits cerveaux ont été retrouvés chez les espèces solitaires ou qui vivent en petits groupes.

    Les algues semblent être un «jouet» apprécié par les baleines noires et les rorquals à bosse. © GREMM

    Chez l’humain, le cerveau serait devenu plus volumineux (un processus appelé encéphalisation) à mesure que nos habiletés sociales — tels le langage, la poursuite d’objectifs communs, l’enseignement, la prise de décision par consensus et l’empathie — se sont développées. Ces habiletés favorisent les interactions sociales coopératives et ont permis aux humains de coloniser une grande partie des écosystèmes terrestres.

    Les cétacés ont aussi des cerveaux proportionnellement gros et anatomiquement sophistiqués. Se pourrait-il que, même s’ils ont évolué dans des environnements bien différents, les cétacés et les humains aient développé une stratégie de survie similaire, c’est-à-dire un gros cerveau permettant une grande diversité d’interactions sociales complexes? Et ceci même si les humains et les cétacés ont des cerveaux anatomiquement très différents? En effet, le lobe frontal, la région du cerveau qui intervient dans la planification, le langage et la plupart des pensées complexes chez l’humain, est absent chez les cétacés. En revanche, ces derniers possèdent de grandes régions cérébrales bien développées qui sont absentes chez l’humain.

    Pour répondre à ces questions, un groupe de chercheurs de l’Université de Stanford, du London School of Economics, de l’Université d’Harvard et de l’Université de Manchester ont répertorié les comportements sociaux observés chez 90 espèces de cétacés — baleines, rorquals, dauphins et marsouins. Ces comportements incluent, par exemple, la présence d’alliances à l’intérieur du groupe, le soin des jeunes par des individus autres que les parents (soins alloparentaux), la coopération entre espèces, la chasse en groupe, les jeux sociaux, l’apprentissage social et les vocalisations complexes.

    Les résultats démontrent que des structures cérébrales bien différentes — chez les humains et les cétacés par exemple — peuvent donner lieu à des compétences sociales similaires. Un peu comme les ailes des oiseaux et les « ailes » des chauvesouris, qui ont la même fonction, c’est-à-dire le vol, sont anatomiquement très différentes et sont le résultat d’évolutions indépendantes, séparées dans le temps par plusieurs millions d’années.

    Pour les scientifiques, la présence de la mère épaulard auprès de ses descendants mâles, même s’ils sont adultes et matures sexuellement, accroit leurs chances de survie.    © Robert Pittman

    Mais qu’est-ce qui est apparu en premier, un cerveau plus gros ou des relations sociales plus complexes? Selon Kieran Fox, étudiant postdoctoral à l’Université de Stanford et coauteur de l’étude, les deux se sont probablement développés conjointement. Le développement de nouveaux comportements sociaux complexes nécessite éventuellement un cerveau plus volumineux et plus puissant. Et le développement d’un cerveau plus puissant facilite l’apprentissage de nouveaux comportements sociaux et de nouvelles compétences. C’est ce que les chercheurs appellent une boucle de rétroaction positive.

    « Disons qu’une augmentation aléatoire de la taille ou de la complexité du cerveau vous donne une plus grande capacité de coopération sociale. Si ces nouvelles compétences sociales portent fruit, la sélection naturelle continuera à favoriser l’expansion de cette même zone cérébrale. La capacité d’acquérir des compétences sociales et de coopérer se développera à son tour, et le cycle se répètera », explique Fox en entrevue à CBC News. « Nous pouvons donc éventuellement nous attendre à ce que les espèces qui ont de grands cerveaux complexes aient aussi tendance à posséder un plus vaste répertoire de comportements sociaux — et c’est exactement ce que nous avons découvert chez les baleines et les dauphins. »

    Cependant, comme chez les primates, la diversité des comportements sociaux n’est pas le seul trait associé à la grosseur du cerveau des cétacés. Les chercheurs ont également observé que les cétacés qui possèdent un cerveau plus volumineux ont tendance à avoir un régime alimentaire plus varié ainsi qu’une aire de répartition plus étendue.

     

    Sources :

    Fox, K.C.R., Muthukrishna, M. and Shultz, S. 2017.The social and cultural roots of whale and dolphin brains. Nature Ecology and Evolution, doi: 10.1038/s41559-017-0336-y

    Whales and dolphins lead ‘human-like lives’ thanks to big brains, says study (The Guardian, 16/10/2017)

    Whales and dolphins have human-like social structures and culture, say researchers (CBC, 16/10/2017)


    Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis 2016, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.