A large group of bacteria was identified for the first time in the breath (or blow) of humpback whales. Whether they live in the Atlantic or in the Pacific, humpbacks to a large extent harbour the same organisms in their blow. Is this a sign of illness? Probably not, as these whales appear to be in good health. Rather, scientists believe that these microorganisms living in whale respiratory systems – like many microorganisms that inhabit the human body – play an important role in maintaining the overall health of the animals, either by boosting their immune system or by fighting pathogens. Researchers hope this discovery will help them better assess and monitor the health of whales.

“The pulmonary system is a common site for bacterial infections in whales,” explains Amy Apprill, researcher at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and lead author of this study, recently published in mSystems. “We see evidence of respiratory illnesses frequently in stranded and deceased animals,” says Apprill. “Until now, little has been known about the normal respiratory microbiome of healthy whales.” Their study will therefore help to fill in some of these data gaps.

Surprising results

Blow samples were collected from two humpback populations, one living in the coastal waters near Cape Cod and the other living off Vancouver Island. The team then sequenced the genetic material found in the samples to determine what kinds of microorganisms are living in the whale’s respiratory tract.

The researchers were surprised to discover a microbiome very different from the one present in the seawater, which clearly demonstrates that this microbiome is coming from the animal. Of the bacterial groups identified, 25 of them were found in all collected samples. This suggests that, regardless of where the animal lives, its age or sex, it shares an important blow microbiome with other members of its species.

Do less healthy animals have a different microbiome?  This is what researchers will try to determine in the seasons to come.

Collecting without disturbing

In order to collect a blow sample from a whale, researchers traditionally use a small boat. When they are close enough to the whale, they collect a sample with a long pole at the tip of which they’ve attached a Petri dish. Although effective, this approach can potentially alter the whale’s behaviour and increase its stress level. Apprill and her colleagues therefore wanted to develop a new, less intrusive technique to assess the health status of whales.

While they were using a drone to capture aerial images of whales, they realized that they could fly through the spouts of their study subjects without disturbing them. It is therefore by using a drone – a hexacopter above which they attached a Petri dish – that the researchers collected their blow samples. The hexacopter is also equipped with a camera for taking high-resolution aerial images for subsequent analysis of the animals’ body condition and general state of health.

Monitoring whale health

Over the past 19 months, no fewer than 53 humpbacks have died along the eastern US coast between Maine and North Carolina. What are the causes of this unusual mortality event? Could analysis of the microbiome present in whale blow provide some answers? Few techniques currently exist to collect data at sea on the health status of large whales such as humpbacks and right whales. Researchers now have a new technique at their disposal that might prove useful to monitor the health status of these populations.

News - 17/10/2017

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

GNL Québec Promises Fund to Curb Underwater Noise Pollution

In a press release, GNL Québec has undertaken to set up a $5M fund to support projects reducing the underwater…

|News 13/2/2020

Marie-Hélène D’Arcy: GREMM’s Keenest Eye

To mark International Day of Women and Girls in Science, the Whales Online team decided to retrace the journey of technician Marie-Hélène D’Arcy,…

|News 11/2/2020

Calving Humpback Caught on Film for First Time

February 3, off the coast of Maui, Hawaii: The captain of a whale-watching cruise observes three humpback whales. According to…

|News 6/2/2020

Des microorganismes dans le souffle des baleines

  • Le souffle d'un rorqual à bosse peut atteindre 3 mètres de hauteur. © GREMM
    17 / 10 / 2017 Par Béatrice Riché - / / /

    Un vaste groupe de bactéries a été identifié pour la première fois dans le souffle de rorquals à bosse. Qu’ils vivent dans l’Atlantique ou dans le Pacifique, les rorquals à bosse hébergent, en grande partie, les mêmes organismes dans leur souffle. Est-ce un signe de maladie? Non, ces baleines semblent en pleine santé. Les scientifiques pensent plutôt que ces microorganismes qui vivent dans le système respiratoire des baleines — tout comme plusieurs microorganismes qui habitent à l’intérieur du corps humain — jouent un rôle important dans le maintien de la santé globale des baleines, que ce soit en renforçant leur système immunitaire ou en luttant contre les agents pathogènes. Les chercheurs espèrent que cette découverte les aidera à mieux évaluer et suivre l’état de santé des baleines.

    Le souffle d’un rorqual à bosse est en forme de ballon, c’est-à-dire qu’il est presque aussi large que haut. © GREMM

    «Le système respiratoire est un site commun d’infection bactérienne chez les baleines», explique Amy Apprill, chercheuse au Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution et auteure principale de cette étude, publiée récemment dans la revue mSystems. «Nous constatons fréquemment des signes de maladies respiratoires chez les animaux échoués et décédés», ajoute Apprill. «Jusqu’à présent, on savait peu de choses sur le microbiome respiratoire normal des baleines en santé.» Leur étude permet donc de combler une partie de ces données manquantes.

    Des résultats surprenants

    Des échantillons de souffle ont été prélevés chez deux populations de rorquals à bosse, l’une vivant dans les eaux côtières près de Cape Cod et l’autre vivant au large de l’ile de Vancouver. L’équipe a ensuite séquencé le matériel génétique trouvé dans les échantillons, afin de déterminer quels microorganismes vivent dans les voies respiratoires de ces baleines.

    Les chercheurs ont été surpris de découvrir un microbiome très différent de celui présent dans l’eau de mer, ce qui démontre clairement que ce microbiome provient de l’animal. Parmi tous les groupes bactériens identifiés, 25 ont été trouvés dans tous les échantillons collectés. Ceci suggère que, peu importe où vit l’animal, son âge ou son sexe, il partage un important microbiome respiratoire avec les autres membres de son espèce.

    Les animaux en moins bonne santé ont-ils un microbiome différent? C’est ce que les chercheurs tenteront de découvrir au cours des prochaines saisons.

    L’hexacoptère est muni d’une caméra pour prendre des images aériennes en haute résolution pour une analyse ultérieure de la condition corporelle et de l’état de santé général des animaux. © Apprill et al.

    Collecter sans déranger

    Afin de collecter un échantillon de souffle de baleine, les chercheurs utilisent traditionnellement un petit bateau. Lorsqu’ils sont suffisamment près de la baleine, ils recueillent un échantillon à l’aide d’une longue perche au bout de laquelle ils ont attaché des boites de Petri. Bien qu’efficace, cette approche peut potentiellement modifier le comportement de la baleine et augmenter son niveau de stress. Aprill et ses collègues désiraient donc développer une nouvelle technique moins intrusive pour évaluer l’état de santé des baleines.

    Alors qu’ils utilisaient un drone pour prendre des images aériennes des baleines, ils se sont aperçus qu’ils pouvaient voler à travers le souffle de leurs sujets d’étude sans les déranger. C’est donc grâce à un drone — un hexacoptère au-dessus duquel ils ont attaché une boite de Petri — que les chercheurs ont collecté leurs échantillons de souffle. L’hexacoptère est également muni d’une caméra pour prendre des images aériennes en haute résolution pour une analyse ultérieure de la condition corporelle et de l’état de santé général des animaux.

    Suivre l’état de santé des baleines

    Au cours des 19 derniers mois, au moins 53 rorquals à bosse sont morts le long de la côte est étatsunienne, entre le Maine et la Caroline du Nord. Quelles sont les causes de cet évènement de mortalité inhabituel? L’analyse du microbiome présent dans le souffle des baleines pourrait-elle fournir quelques éléments de réponse? Peu de techniques existent actuellement pour collecter, en mer, des données sur l’état de santé des grandes baleines, comme les rorquals à bosses et les baleines noires. Les chercheurs ont maintenant une nouvelle technique à leur disposition, qui pourra s’avérer utile pour suivre l’état de santé de ces populations.

     

    Sources:

    Apprill, A., Miller, C.A., Moore, M,J., Durban, J.W., Fearnbach, H. et Barrett-Lennard, L.G. 2017. Extensive Core Microbiome in Drone-Captured Whale Blow Supports a Framework for Health Monitoring. mSystems, doi: 10.1128/mSystems.00119-17

    Study identifies whale blow microbiome (Phys.org, 10/10/2017)

     

    Pour en savoir plus:

    Sur Baleines en direct:

    Rorqual à bosse

    Des drones au-dessus des baleines


    Après plusieurs années à l’étranger, à travailler sur la conservation des ressources naturelles, les espèces en péril et les changements climatiques, Béatrice Riché est de retour sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, qu’elle arpente tous les jours. Rédactrice pour le GREMM depuis 2016, elle écrit des histoires de baleines, inspirée par tout ce qui se passe ici et ailleurs.