Can whales be counted using photos taken from outer space? Two researchers from Perth, Australia, are attempting to conduct a survey of humpback whales migrating along the west coast of Australia using satellite images taken 600 kilometres above the Earth. This new technique for tallying whales is promising.

Surveys are essential for monitoring populations and implementing conservation measures for populations at risk. They are usually performed visually by humans from a ship, aircraft or land-based site. These techniques are often costly, complex and can sometimes be lacking in accuracy.

Researchers Michele Thums and Curt Jenner decided to test a new technique for counting whales. They ordered two satellite images, which they then spent several long days combing over in order to familiarize themselves with what whales look like from space. Their observation: the satellite images, being of very high resolution (resolution of 30 cm, with approximately 40 pixels covering a whale), make it possible to identify whales with a fairly large degree of certainty. However, the process is quite time-consuming. They are currently performing a cost-benefit analysis of the technique to determine whether a long-term whale monitoring program using satellite imagery would be viable. They are also trying to develop a software program that can be used to spot whales more quickly in black-and-white satellite images.

In the early 2000s, attempts to survey whales using satellite imagery proved disappointing. Scientists attempted the experiment again in 2012, using an image taken by the WorldView-2 satellite to count southern right whales over Argentina’s Valdes Peninsula, with promising results.

In order to survey St. Lawrence belugas, tests were also conducted by Fisheries and Oceans Canada in 2012 using archived images taken in 2009 by GeoEye-1 and WorldView-1. Researchers had selected the images based on the distribution of belugas observed during surveys in August 2009 and the weather conditions on the days for which images were available. You can see an example of a satellite image zoom where researchers identified a group of belugas. “As this image was taken in the Estuary on a calm day, it is unlikely that these white objects are anything but belugas,” explains DFO biologist Jean-François Gosselin. “But at times or places where there are blocks of ice or waves, identification becomes more tricky. With images of this quality, it is difficult to distinguish belugas in areas where there are waves and tide rips such as at the mouth of the Saguenay. This is a problem for a survey of St. Lawrence belugas, where these situations are frequent. And for the price of satellite images, we can conduct 6 visual surveys,” he continues. For the time being, Fisheries and Oceans Canada continues to perform its surveys visually. “With more accurate images and more affordable costs, satellite images might eventually replace aerial surveys… we weren’t too far off with the 2009 images,” explains Gosselin.

In recent years, better performing Earth observation satellites have been put into orbit, including the WorldView-3 launched in August 2014. Thanks to increasingly accurate satellite imagery and the development of software allowing whales to be discerned automatically, counting cetaceans from space could become commonplace.

News - 25/2/2017

Béatrice Riché

Béatrice Riché has served as editor for the GREMM in 2016. She holds an MSc in environmental science and has spent several years working abroad in the fields of resource conservation, species at risk and climate change. Back on the shores of the St. Lawrence, which she keeps watch over every day, Béatrice writes columns on whales, drawing inspiration from events taking place here and afar.

Recommended articles

A Fourth Generation Humpback Calf!

Good news! Aramis, daughter of the famous humpback whale Tic Tac Toe, recently gave birth to her very first documented…

|News 26/3/2020

Using Barnacles to Reconstruct Ancient Whale Migrations

Whales, which have been around for roughly 30 million years, are estimated to have reached their current size 4.5 million…

|News 19/3/2020

Slower boats, quieter boats?

In 2017, Ruth Joy and her team (ECHO) conducted a study on the correlation between speed limit reductions and noise…

|News 19/3/2020

Compter les baleines vues de l’espace

  • Rorquals à bosse © GREMM
    Rorquals à bosse/ Humpback whales © GREMM
    25 / 02 / 2017 Par Béatrice Riché - /

    Peut-on compter les baleines à partir de photos prises de l’espace? Deux chercheurs de Perth, en Australie, tentent d’effectuer un inventaire des rorquals à bosse migrant le long de la côte ouest australienne, en utilisant des images satellites prises 600 kilomètres au-dessus de la Terre. Cette nouvelle technique pour compter les baleines s’avère prometteuse.

    Les inventaires sont indispensables pour faire le suivi des populations et mettre en place des mesures de conservation pour les populations en péril. Ils sont habituellement effectués visuellement par des humains à partir d’un bateau, d’un avion ou d’un site terrestre. Ces techniques sont souvent onéreuses, complexes et manquent parfois de précision.

    Les chercheurs Michele Thums et Curt Jenner ont donc décidé de tester une nouvelle technique pour compter les baleines. Ils ont commandé deux images satellites, qu’ils ont ensuite parcouru pendant de longues journées afin de se familiariser avec ce que ressemblent les baleines vues de l’espace. Leur constat: les images satellites utilisées, étant d’une très haute résolution (résolution de 30 cm et environ 40 pixels couvrant une baleine), permettent de distinguer les baleines avec une assez grande certitude. Cependant, le processus demande beaucoup de temps. Ils effectuent actuellement une analyse coût-avantage de la technique, afin de vérifier si un programme de suivi à long terme des rorquals, par images satellites, serait viable. Ils essaient également de développer un logiciel permettant de repérer plus rapidement les baleines dans les images satellites en noir et blanc.

    Au début des années 2000, des tentatives d’inventaire de baleines par images satellites s’étaient révélées décevantes. Des scientifiques avaient de nouveau tenté l’expérience en 2012, utilisant une image prise par le satellite WorldView-2 pour compter les baleines franches australes au-dessus de la péninsule de Valdès en Argentine et les résultats avaient été prometteurs.

    Agrandissement d'une image satellite de 2009 prise par GeoEye-1, dans laquelle on peut voir un groupe de bélugas du Saint-Laurent

    Agrandissement d’une image satellite de 2009 prise par GeoEye-1, permettant de voir un groupe de bélugas du Saint-Laurent

    Des tests avaient aussi été faits par Pêches et Océans Canada en 2012, utilisant des images archivées de 2009 prises par GeoEye-1 et WorldView-1, afin de compter les bélugas du Saint-Laurent. Les chercheurs avaient choisi les images selon la distribution des bélugas observés lors des relevés effectués en aout 2009 et les conditions météo des journées pour lesquelles des images étaient disponibles. Vous pouvez voir ci-contre un exemple d’agrandissement d’une image satellite où les chercheurs ont identifié un groupe de bélugas. « Cette image ayant été prise lors d’une journée calme dans l’estuaire, il est peu probable que ces objets blancs soient autre chose que des bélugas », mentionne Jean-François Gosselin, biologiste à Pêche et Océans Canada. « Mais à une période ou un endroit où il y a des morceaux de glaces ou des vagues, l’identification devient moins certaine. C’est difficile de distinguer des bélugas, avec cette qualité d’image, dans des secteurs où il y a des vagues et clapotis comme à l’embouchure du Saguenay. C’est donc un problème pour un relevé de bélugas du Saint-Laurent, où ces zones sont fréquentes. Et pour le prix des images satellites, on peut faire 6 relevés visuels », poursuit-il. Pour l’instant, Pêches et Océans Canada continue donc de faire ses relevés visuellement. « Avec des images plus précises et des couts plus abordables, les images satellites pourraient éventuellement remplacer les relevés aériens, on n’était pas très loin avec les images de 2009 », indique M. Gosselin.

    Au cours des dernières années, des satellites d’observation de la Terre plus performants ont été mis en orbite, entre autres le WorldView-3 lancé en aout 2014. Grâce aux images satellites qui deviennent de plus en plus précises et au développement de logiciels permettant de distinguer automatiquement les baleines, compter les baleines vues de l’espace pourrait devenir monnaie courante.

     

    Source:

    Satellites counting whales from space revolutionising monitoring techniques for researchers

     

    Pour en savoir plus:

    Sur Baleines en direct:

    Inventaire aérien