August 21: The Bleuvet is stationed off of L’Anse-à-la-Boule. The weather is particularly calm. Amidst the last patches of fog lingering on the Fjord, a beluga appears, exhibiting a peculiar behaviour. It swims in one direction, turns abruptly, dives, resurfaces, dives again. Upon returning to the surface, the animal spits out a stream of water: it is in the midst of hunting.

From our distance and viewpoint, it is impossible to see the fish being pursued, but according to the experience of the past twenty years of Michel Moisan, lead technician at the GREMM, the spitting technique is often associated with the hunting of herring, a small pelagic fish. How does he know? Whenever he observed this technique and a gull came to steal the prey, the latter always flew off with a herring flailing in its bill. Might the spitting be used to scare the fish or stun it?

Our beluga spits once again. Thanks to the flat calm of the Saguenay, we can hear the water splashing a few centimetres in front of the beluga. It swims energetically, dives… and calmly resurfaces with a regular breathing pattern. Did it manage to eat its prey, or did it abandon the effort? Hard to say. “I can’t wait till we get the drone,” says GREMM research assistant Tim Perrero. Under the current conditions – no wind, light softened by minute traces of fog – the beluga (and possibly the fish) would appear clearly in the camera. For next season, the Bleuvet crew hopes to have a drone pilot on board to observe such behaviours from the water and from the air and thus better understand what these mysterious belugas are doing.

Preliminary identifications of the week

DL2286 Miss Frontenac

DL0393 Amalena

The complete list of identified belugas requires meticulous efforts to match individuals, which will be undertaken once the field season has come to a close.

Field Notes - 28/8/2017

Équipe du GREMM

Led by scientific director Robert Michaud, the research team of the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) studies St. Lawrence beluga whales and large rorquals (humpback, blue and fin whales) at sea. The Bleuvet and the BpJAM leave the port of Tadoussac every morning to gather valuable information on the life of the whales of the St. Lawrence Estuary.

Recommended articles

With the Belugas… Collecting Biopsies

By Laura Zeppetelli This fall, I had the opportunity to leave my office in downtown Montréal to board the Bleuvet…

|Field Notes 9/11/2021

With the Belugas… An overview of our 2021 projects

By Alexandre Bernier-Graveline How do you imagine the day-to-day life of a member of GREMM’s research team? Hair blowing in…

|Field Notes 22/9/2021

With the mobile team… and a beluga carcass

By Marie-Maude Rondeau This summer, I’m working as a responder for the Quebec Marine Mammal Emergency Response Network (QMMERN). I’m…

|Field Notes 15/9/2021

Avec les bélugas : semaine du 21 aout 2017

  • Le crachat, une technique de chasse chez le béluga / Spitting may be a way of hunting for belugas. © GREMM
    28 / 08 / 2017 Par Équipe du Bleuvet

    21 aout : Le Bleuvet se stationne devant l’Anse-à-la-Boule. Le temps est particulièrement calme. Un béluga apparait entre les derniers filaments de brouillard qui traine sur le fiord. Son comportement est étonnant. Il fonce dans une direction, se retourne brusquement, plonge, ressort, replonge. De retour à la surface, le béluga crache un jet d’eau devant lui : il est en pleine partie de chasse.

    De notre distance et de notre hauteur, impossible de voir le poisson chassé, mais selon l’expérience des vingt dernières années de Michel Moisan, technicien en chef du GREMM, la technique du crachat est fréquemment liée à la chasse au hareng, un petit poisson pélagique. Comment le sait-il? Chaque fois qu’il a observé cette technique et qu’un goéland est venu voler la proie, c’était avec un hareng se débattant dans le bec qu’il se sauvait. Le crachat servirait-il à effrayer le poisson ou à l’assommer?

    Un béluga en pleine partie de chasse. © GREMM

    Notre béluga crache à nouveau. Le calme plat du Saguenay nous permet d’entendre l’eau s’écraser à quelques centimètres devant le béluga. Il nage vigoureusement, plonge… et ressort calme, avec un patron de respiration régulier. A-t-il réussi à manger sa proie ou a-t-il abandonné sa chance? Difficile de le savoir. «J’ai hâte qu’on ait le drone», lance Tim Perrero, assistant de recherche du GREMM. Avec les conditions actuelles — sans vent, lumière tamisée par les résidus brumeux — le béluga (et possiblement le poisson) apparaitrait bien en transparence à la caméra. Pour la prochaine saison, l’équipe du Bleuvet espère avoir un pilote de drone à son bord pour épier de l’eau et des airs les comportements et ainsi mieux comprendre ce que font les mystérieux bélugas.

    Préidentifications de la semaine

    DL2286 Miss Frontenac

    DL0393 Amalena

    La liste complète des bélugas identifiés nécessite un travail d’appariement minutieux qui sera poursuivi après la saison de terrain.


    Le Bleuvet est le bateau de recherche du GREMM et de l’Institut national d’écotoxicologie du Saint-Laurent dédié au programme de recherche sur les bélugas du Saint-Laurent. Son équipe, dirigée par Robert Michaud, directeur scientifique du GREMM, est composée de Michel Moisan et Tim Perrero.